Light Truck Tires

Discoverer A/T3

Discoverer A/T3™ is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 175.
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_175
  • loc_en_US, sid_337_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Discoverer A/T3
Overland Editors ChoiceOverland Value

Standard Limited Warranty
55,000 Mile Tread Wear Protection
M+S Rated

The Discoverer A/T3 utilizes a balanced combination of technology, compounding and design to produce a tire that will perform well in nearly all types of terrains. The tread compound enhances wet traction and reduces rolling resistance, while the aggressive tread design significantly improves off-road traction without sacrificing highway performance. All traction...all terrain..all the time!

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Reward Available
Overland Editors ChoiceOverland Value

Features & Benefits

  • Modern, aggressive 5-rib all-terrain design to provide outstanding performance in both on-road and off-road driving applications.
  • Silica based tread compound provides excellent wet traction and handling on the highway, while also improving cut and chip resistance in more harsh rocky and gravel terrain.
  • Dual draft tread element walls aid in reducing stone retention, stone drilling and assist in cut and chip resistance.
  • Lateral groove protectors reduce the chance of stone retention and stone drilling.
  • Broken center rib improves soft surface traction without sacrificing handling.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from have 2 SUV's with these they are so great These tires ride great and last forever. I have them on 2 SUV's (2006 Acura MDX and 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee) and we drive up and down the coast between CT and FL and they hardly have any wear after 3 years of many trips driving 80 mph on I95. They are a little loud due to the aggressive tread so you may have to turn up the tunes a notch. I highly recommend these tires for great traction and long wear.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire for the money Good traction in the snow and rain. Don't travel off road very much. Bought my tires from a Cooper wholesaler in central PA with a $70 rebate. I'm at 63K with and between 4 and 5/32's and the tires are still performing well considering the amount of wear. A good tire for the money. Will likely buy again for my Tacoma and replace OEM's on my Tundra.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST for any AWD SUV This tire surprised with how smooth and quiet it is on the highway. Performance on dirt and gravel roads is superb. MUCH better than any touring SUV tire. Their performance on snow packed roads is awesome too. Wow. Got me through areas that I would have for certainly gotten stuck with the stock tires. They handle wet roads amazingly well too. Overall this tires makes any AWD SUV much much better. It really stretches the vehicles capability. They should come standard on SUVs. Wow. If you want a year round tire for your SUV and you will encounter dirt and snowy roads look no further. This is IT.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a really good tire when you know what you want. This tire is a really good tire and has held up well for me. I have a little over 10000 miles on them since I bought them. For people whining about the road noise lets be real. Are they quieter than a street tread tire, no. Are they noisier than a full blown mud tire, no. They fall in between these categories and yes they do have some road noise, no it is not so obnoxious you can't listen to the radio. I have had these in some very adhesive mud and had no problems going through that mud as the tires kept the outside lugs clean and continued to gain traction. For the people saying that they are wearing fast I have to wonder what type of driving they are doing as I have had mine on the highway, off roading, out in the woods and they still have plenty of tread on them.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible anywhere other than concrete These tires slick over in even the slightest amount of dirt. If it's wet and you don't have 4x4 you can forget getting out. Tread wear is decent but not great. My rear two tires are wearing out twice as fast as the front and it's perfect aligned. Not sure if I got a bad set but they are not good.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around tire Had these on my 2001 f150 and even with a bad front end and lack of rotation still managed to get about 30K on them before I sold the pickup. Handled very well in all terrains even in the ND winters. They were a little loud, but that may have been from the lack of rotations.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Gave one star because that's as low as it goes. I put these on my 2007 RAM 4×4. Rotated every 5000 miles and at 11,382 these are WORN OUT!! The local dealer sold them as 10 ply heavy duty tires. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THESE TIRES!!!!
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tire and price Got these tires for my 2012 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4X4 back in October and they have been great so far. Excellent dry and wet traction. Just got our first snow which was 9.5 to 10 inches deep on January 6-7 2017 and these tire were awesome in the snow. I only have about 5000 miles on them and with aggressive tire as they wear I know they will start to make a little noise which doesn't bother me, its a truck with an aggressive design. This was one of the only tires I could find in my size with white letters. keep up the good work Cooper Tires this one gets an A+ .
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good all around tires. This is now the third set I have owned. I currently have them on a 2013 Wrangler JK and a 2009 F250 Superduty. Previously on an F150. All three sets have performed admirably and each exceeded 50k. We live a mile back in the dirt and commute to work on asphalt as well as light off roading with them. Great on all surfaces and quieter than the BFG's the Jeep came with. Will likely have a fourth set.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Third set I have bought This is the third set I have bought. I do mostly highway miles. I do live on a gravel road. The perfect blend for hunting and fishing yet has great traction on snow and ice.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tires were shot before 40,000 Overall a good tire but was at 3/32 before 35,000 miles. I rotated them myself which apparently voids any sort of mileage warranty. Had to replace all four before 40,000.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice tire with caveats Great tread and surprisingly quiet for an AT. Seems to handle well in different terrains and bad weather. With a higher/firmer UTQG rating than the OEM AT's that came with the truck, I was hoping for close to equal mileage but have lost about 2 mpg. Consider that if buying for your daily driver.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So loud I can hardly ride in my 4Runner I have had these tires about 18 months . They have been maintained and rotated exactly as they should have been. The treadwear is great but they are so loud that I cannot hardly listen to the radio or talk on the phone because of the roar. I have to get new tires much sooner than anticipated because of this. Ratings said they were quiet, but they definitely aren't.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from on my second set I had a set of AT3 p225/75/16 on my Jeep Liberty. they have a 50k rating, but I got 70K miles out of my first set. so I got LT225/75/16 this time wanted a stiffer ride. they are awesome in any condition, on or off road.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longest lasting tire I've ever owned I put a set of 265/75/16 A/T3s on my Chevrolet K1500 at 161,000 miles thinking they would be the last set before the truck died. At 267,000 miles I replaced the A/T3s. I probably could have gotten another 5,000 miles out of them, but I was about to put 4,000 miles on them on a hunting trip out west. Yep, I got 106,000 miles out of one set, the tire dealer I buy from did a double take on the work orders mileages. It pays to rotate every 5,000 miles, check the tire pressure often, and don't abuse your equipment. I use the truck for commuting, towing my boat or camper and for off road hunting. Waiting to see which wears out first- the tires or the truck.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tire for all Seasons My BF Goodrich OEM tires on my 2008 Nissan Frontier SE 4X4 didn't last 40,000 miles, so after researching what was available in 2011 I settled on the Copper Discover A/T3 LT265/70R16E which came with high ratings from Consumers Union. I just purchased replacement tires with 115,000 miles on the truck. That is right over 75,000 miles on a 55,000 mile rated tire ... I couldn't be happier. Actually, I should have gotten another 5,000 miles out of them but I had a construction screw embed itself in the sidewall of one tire, which was not repairable. It was time anyway as I had gotten my money's worth from the 5-year-old tires in all kinds of weather and every conceivable road condition. I should add I tow an 8,500 lb travel trailer and have had no problems towing or stopping the rig
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's not as good as I expected I live in Northern Minnesota and have mostly ran mud tires year round. I figured I would give these tires a shot. Put it this way I had way better traction on snow and ice with Interco Thornbirds than the Cooper AT3.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Looks & Treadwear I have had these on my Toyota Tacoma for 4 years and 63,000 miles. They still have 4/32 tread but I am buying a new set because ski season has arrived and I am worried about driving in the mountain snow. Never had a flat or any other problems with these tires. Best tire I have ever owned.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tire I have had these on my 2003 Jeep Wrangler sense 2012. I love them, love them so much that I have suggested them to my friends and they have put them on their vehicles too.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough tires I work in road construction so I rack up a lot of highway miles to and from jobsites and also spend half of my year off road. I've gotten 87,000 miles out of these tires and time for a new set. I only rotated the tires 3 times and they have held up great. Pulled several nails out of them with no leaks thanks to the 10 ply rating. Great off road traction slightly rough ride probably due to the hardness, also they do get noisy towards the end of their life especially around 50MPH. I will continue to put these tires on both of my trucks.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tire I replaced 4 Goodyear Silent Armor tires with these on my 2008 Ram 4 wheel drive. The Silent Armor tires served me well for 60000 miles but are very costly. I had used Cooper discovers in the past so I went this route. Boy am I glad, 500.00 less expensive and better traction overall. I live in Ohio just got snow and these tires acted like it was August and in 2 wheel drive. Very quiet for the tread design and handle better that the Goodyear,s as well. Great value great American company. Don,t hesitate if you are on the fence.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am satisfied with this tire. Love the ride, traction and low noise and never had a puncture but let me start by saying I never get good life out of any tire in the Colorado mountains on my Ram 2500. Mountain driving on pavement and gravel coupled with diesel torque just grinds tires to death and I rotate every 3-4 k. I'm driving one of the steepest maintained county roads in Colorado everyday. As a result, I must purchase tires yearly and expect 15 k miles out of this set. Ouch you say, but they do outlast the BFG AT's under these conditions by a few k. This one outlasted the ATP's as well and has better wet road traction with wear. I'm jealous of you guys reporting the big miles on the flats. I tow a horse trailer and only load heavy in the bed once in a while. I suppose you can say they are a safe severe duty tire. I descend an average 16% grade on snow and ice daily in the winter.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good on road and decent off road I have this tire on OEM size on 2007 Frontier. I just rolled 60,000 miles on them. They have been good tires. Great dry traction and decent wet traction although that has declined now that they are almost worn out. The noise was good to begin with but gets worse as time goes on. Getting that wop wop wop sound now. They are ok in the dirt but not great in sand. My biggest beef with them is the balance. These tires will not stay balance for more than a week. I have had these rebalanced more than 25 times now. They also seem to change balance each day. Some days it is ok at 70mph and some days it will bounce you off the road. VERY annoying! I am now looking at replacing them but not going back to Cooper or any AT tire. I will go back to street tires.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great look, long life I'm going on 76K miles this week on my first set and planning to get another set before winter. I have really had good luck with this tire with no buyer's remorse. I rotated them only once, front to back, on My Ram1500 and I tow a boat and haul wood frequently. I love that Cooper is American Company that I can get behind, making quality products at a reasonable cost and keeping our jobs here in America!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Have them on four rigs. The only way to go. Will not buy any thing else.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing treadwear. I did a lot of research before spending a small fortune on these 325/60/20 tires. It turned out to be a waste of time since everyone raved about these tires. I loved them at first; but I have 17k miles on them and they are well below half tread! I could have just as much fun at half the price.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Put a set on my Dodge 2500 diesel im at 65000 miles right now and looking to get another 10000 to 15000 out of them.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did Not Last Had the Discover A/T3's on my Jeep Liberty for 5+ years. Only put 24,000 miles on these tires. At first they seemed decent but was disappointed with snow traction. Tread would cake. They seemed to get more noisy the more the tread wore down. The last couple of years would have to add air to tires on a weekly basis. Had two flats in the past year. Do not recommend. These have been replaced with General Grabber AT2's. I do have have a set of Cooper Zeon RS3-S tires on my Mustang and I like them. Disappointed with the Discoverer AT/3's.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tires I had Nitro G2''s previously on my 2013 Ford F350 SWB Platinum, decided to do the switch to the A/T3 and was pleasantly surprised. These tires are 10 ply tires, have an aggressive bite on and off road and I get no I sidewall play when towing 34-foot Keystone Premier. I have approximately 5K miles on them now. EXTREMELY HAPPY!
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the look and performance Like the look of this tire. There is very little road noise from them and have great wet road traction. Have not had them in snow yet but that will be happening soon. Hoping they are as good in snow as rain.
Date published: 2016-11-19
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_175
  • loc_en_US, sid_337_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling