Light Truck Tires

Discoverer A/T3

Discoverer A/T3™ is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 199.
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_199
  • loc_en_US, sid_337_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Discoverer A/T3
Overland Editors ChoiceOverland Value

Standard Limited Warranty
55,000 Mile Tread Wear Protection
M+S Rated

The Discoverer A/T3 utilizes a balanced combination of technology, compounding and design to produce a tire that will perform well in nearly all types of terrains. The tread compound enhances wet traction and reduces rolling resistance, while the aggressive tread design significantly improves off-road traction without sacrificing highway performance. All traction...all terrain..all the time!

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Overland Editors ChoiceOverland Value

Features & Benefits

  • Modern, aggressive 5-rib all-terrain design to provide outstanding performance in both on-road and off-road driving applications.
  • Silica based tread compound provides excellent wet traction and handling on the highway, while also improving cut and chip resistance in more harsh rocky and gravel terrain.
  • Dual draft tread element walls aid in reducing stone retention, stone drilling and assist in cut and chip resistance.
  • Lateral groove protectors reduce the chance of stone retention and stone drilling.
  • Broken center rib improves soft surface traction without sacrificing handling.

Customer Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good when new.but not since. The first 10 to 15 thousand miles were just fine. Since then they are very loud and can even be felt in the steering wheel. I've had them back to the dealer numerous times for rotation and rebalancing. Nothing seems to help. I've never wanted a set of tires to wear out, but I'll be glad when these are gone. I now have about 20 thousand on them and am very dissapointed . Prior to buying them I had all front suspension parts replaced. It's not the truck at fault, it's the tires. Dealer says this is normal for this tire.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tire - rides comfortable and quiet Just purchased these and what an amazing difference in ride from my OEM tires on my f150. Great wet and dry grip. Only a few thousand miles so far, so time will tell on the longevity but great tire so far.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tires Had these on a 2004 Avalanche, ran them for 3 years in western NY snow and off roaring. Never had a problem with them. Replaced them because I ran over a piece of metal at a construction site. I'm definitely getting them for my new Silverado.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Initial review: Put these on my 2012 Tacoma V6 4x4 last week replacing Michelin MS2 which lasted me over 70,000. Very pleased thus far with the AT3's. LT265-75-16 C. So far 400 miles of 70mph Interstate & 45-55mph rural driving. A slight hum at highway speeds compared to Michelins but still very quiet. Handle heavy rain very well. Look great on the truck. I should have switched to these AT3's a long time ago but was worried about a rough ride, noise, and loss of mileage. The At3's are smooth riding, quiet (for an AT tire), and seem to be getting similar mpg to the MS2 despite the additional weight. I highly recommend these tires. I will update this review at 10K.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome looking tires Read lots of reviews and looked at a lot of tires, decided to go with AT3's , Made my Ram Look like a truck !!! Nice and quiet and nice and smooth. So far no complaints at all. Can't wait for winter i think they will be just fine.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I replaced the standard Michelin's with these on my 4Runner last year. We are not intense 4x4 Runners but we are adventurous. Traveling mountain roads with sharp rocks, thru mud, and even soft sand here in the desert of So. Cal they are great. Mostly HWY traveling but I have over 10k on these tires, and they still look like new. I found one very small cut just the other day in the tread. No biggie. I'd put these on again anytime, and I doubt it will be soon. No regrets, and Very Happy with them.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good A/T tire Currently have 47,000 miles on these tires and looks like I could get at least another 15,000 miles. Live in northern Wyoming and run highways and dirt/gravel roads into oil fields. Overall good traction on both highways and off road, even fairly reasonable mud traction. Only complaint is that I started seeing cupping on the tires around 30,000 miles, even though I rotate every 5,000 miles and have alignment checked several times...
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2 sets in less than a year. Buy the warranty if you buy these tires. Junk. This is the 2nd set in less than a year.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire This is my second set of AT3s. First set was on chevy Tahoe. They looked great and lasted quite awhile. New set is on 2014 F150. Gave the 2wd truck a much better aggressive look. Couldn't be more pleased.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best darn AT tire out there for the money! i put these on my grand cherokee almost 3 years ago and couldn't be happier. i'm at 7000ft in the rockies and these tires have performed well in all conditions. get a set, you won't be disappointed!!!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great all around tire I put a set of these on my f150 over two years ago and have had nothing but good luck with them. I dont know how many miles on them but i drive allot. Tbey are great on all road conditions, i have had them in rocks and mud on old logging roads i probably should not have been on and have never gotten stuck. I am thinking about a more agressive tire next but may end up with more of these, they have been great.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Capabilities I use my Sierra 1500 off pavement enough that the P metric radial sizes lack the durability I need. Pavement use was adequate but repair replacement cost of the P metric size was very disappointing. The nearby tire dealer recommended the Discoverer A/T3. The A/T3 has been a big disappointment. My only positive about them was that I never had a single flat with the set of four. Especially on pavement these tires are rough. They were rebalanced multiple times but they always rode on pavement like they were out of balance. The best smooth pavement did not improve their ride quality. After about 10,000 miles I replaced them with a different brand and they reside in my storage unit.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tire I put these on my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Altitude.I replaced the horrible Goodyears that came with it.These have been great in All conditions & I feel confident & safe with these.I flew of the road in the Winter with the stock tires, these NO Worries & they're Quiet.Haven't been off-road.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire I have had a set for 5 years now and 61,000 miles. Just replaced them with another set. Nice ride and traction.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All Around Great Tire Long Island New York. Seldom do any reviews include location, the tire, tire size and vehicle. After extensive reviewing and my previous experience with Cooper AT's and their improvements with A/T3's I knew I would go for the A/T3's. I had 35x12.50 R20 installed by Mavis on 2007 F150 SuperCab. They were installed the day after we got about twelve inches of snow. My first Impression was excellent. In the snow they had outstanding grip. The next day on cleared but salted roads I drove home about 105 miles on highway, an even better impression. No road noise to speak of, super smooth ride and no trouble balancing with 10 oz of ceramic beads in each tire. The next day I towed my camper just as easily and more comfortably than usual to Smith Point County Park. Got to the beach, aired down to 20 PSI. I was driving every day on the beach, loose sand, hard packed sand and everything in between, even some small boulders at low speed. I drove back to NJ 105 miles in the pouring rain deliberately at dry conditions speed. I could not spin these tires from a dead stop, nor hydroplane them at speed that other drivers were getting away from. I never even felt a sudden shift from hitting standing water. I could not believe what I was experiencing. My first set of Cooper Discoverer AT's were installed on my previous F150 CrewCab before I bought it with only a few thousand miles on them. I personally put 50k miles on them and they still had 5k in them. Thanks Cooper for making such an excellent tire that will far exceed my driving needs. Pure Bliss!!!
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't last long The tread doesn't last long at all especially considering the cost. . They're not like they used to be. Almost time to replace and not even 20,000 miles on them, very little highway driving. So much for going to to the STT pro's, time to switch brands
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs better than expected On and off road these tires perform great. On road 20K they are great haven't noticed any at all. Off road two separate trips on the 216 mile Lassen Applegate Trail no problems. Towing a 4K trailer and two 1000 lb Arcticats threw the Black Rock Desert wet grease No Problem. Saved my butt. Thanks Cooper ! Will get same replacement tires when needed. Long time from now.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good all around tire I put them on my 08 GMC Sierra. I was concerned about noise and a rough ride. Had neither. They are relatively quiet with a smooth ride. Plenty of traction. The only issue I had was, they seemed to throw more stuff from the road up the sides of the truck. I will buy these again.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I buy these tires for every vehicle I own I just recently purchased a truck and the first thing i did was buy these tires. I have installed these on 5 of my vehicles from trucks to suvs. They are great in the snow and do well on the wet roads as well. They are somewhat noisy but that also depends on the vehicle you own and whether its sound proofing is better in the cabin or not. I have installed them on a couple vehicles and never noticed any noise and on a few others some noise either way they are great tires. You most always get some road noise with a more aggressive tread tire.These are not bad. I feel it's a great trade off for the peace of mind you have not worrying about getting thru a harsh winter. I have two young drivers and put these on both their vehicles just to ease my concerns for their safety on slick roads. I read one review here where someone stated they wore out in 11000 miles . I find that hard to believe based on my own experiences they more likely had some serious issues with their vehicle that were ignored. I will continue to purchase these for every vehicle I can fit them on.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very happy so far Have about 20k miles on these tires on a 2012 4x4 Nissan Frontier. They are quiet enough, not like driving a Lexus or Mercedes, but a Frontier isn't one of those vehicles. Wet traction is great, dry traction is great, I don't do any real off-roading but I do drive on dirt every day for work, and they have been fine. I'm thinking of putting a set on my wife's 2012 Toyota Sienna, since the Sienna kills touring tires pretty quickly, and I think these will last longer than touring tires.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best all around truck tire I've owned... I bought these tires in 2014 to replace a set of Bridgestone Duelers IIRC. I bought them at Mills Fleet Farm as I run Coopers almost exclusively on all my vehicles. I mounted them on a 2008 Chevy Silverado with 20" wheels. I'm very vigilant about keeping my tires properly inflated and rotated every other oil change which for me means every 10k or so. As of this review I just passed 47k miles on them with most of that on pavement. I just measured them and they are all almost identical with 6/32nds at the center and are all evenly worn. I live in NE Wisconsin and also have a house up north so they see plenty TRUE all season driving conditions. From 90deg heat to -20deg snow/ice covered roads...they've seen it all. They have never left me stuck. I've had to drive through a solid 10" of snow for about 40 miles one night last year and did so with confidence. Even half worn...they're still better than some tires I've owned with the stickers barely driven off. They're not loud, they provide a nice ride and although you do lose about 1MPG I'll sacrifice that with no complaints. I would highly recommend these for drivers who spend most of their time on road but venture off occasionally. IF you get stuck...you can NOT blame the tire.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic ALL Terrain Tire I'm on my second set of these on my '96 GMC K1500 extended cab, long bed, 4x4. Most of my driving is highway, but I'm not afraid to go off road. I pulled my 28' camper out of 6"+ of rising river with these tires. They also wear like iron, 56k+ on my last set and still had 7/32 on the two AT/3's, the other no name tires were worn to the cords.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tire Just had these put on my 2014 ram 1500 to replace the Goodyear stock tire.ive put about 2,000 miles on them and so far,so good. I dont notice any more road noise than I did before .they do grip the road well and do good in snow and rain.would recommend.
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tires Currently have about 44,000 miles on these and y wear great. Haven't had any problems with them. Good traction on most terrain.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from have 2 SUV's with these they are so great These tires ride great and last forever. I have them on 2 SUV's (2006 Acura MDX and 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee) and we drive up and down the coast between CT and FL and they hardly have any wear after 3 years of many trips driving 80 mph on I95. They are a little loud due to the aggressive tread so you may have to turn up the tunes a notch. I highly recommend these tires for great traction and long wear.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire for the money Good traction in the snow and rain. Don't travel off road very much. Bought my tires from a Cooper wholesaler in central PA with a $70 rebate. I'm at 63K with and between 4 and 5/32's and the tires are still performing well considering the amount of wear. A good tire for the money. Will likely buy again for my Tacoma and replace OEM's on my Tundra.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST for any AWD SUV This tire surprised with how smooth and quiet it is on the highway. Performance on dirt and gravel roads is superb. MUCH better than any touring SUV tire. Their performance on snow packed roads is awesome too. Wow. Got me through areas that I would have for certainly gotten stuck with the stock tires. They handle wet roads amazingly well too. Overall this tires makes any AWD SUV much much better. It really stretches the vehicles capability. They should come standard on SUVs. Wow. If you want a year round tire for your SUV and you will encounter dirt and snowy roads look no further. This is IT.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a really good tire when you know what you want. This tire is a really good tire and has held up well for me. I have a little over 10000 miles on them since I bought them. For people whining about the road noise lets be real. Are they quieter than a street tread tire, no. Are they noisier than a full blown mud tire, no. They fall in between these categories and yes they do have some road noise, no it is not so obnoxious you can't listen to the radio. I have had these in some very adhesive mud and had no problems going through that mud as the tires kept the outside lugs clean and continued to gain traction. For the people saying that they are wearing fast I have to wonder what type of driving they are doing as I have had mine on the highway, off roading, out in the woods and they still have plenty of tread on them.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible anywhere other than concrete These tires slick over in even the slightest amount of dirt. If it's wet and you don't have 4x4 you can forget getting out. Tread wear is decent but not great. My rear two tires are wearing out twice as fast as the front and it's perfect aligned. Not sure if I got a bad set but they are not good.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around tire Had these on my 2001 f150 and even with a bad front end and lack of rotation still managed to get about 30K on them before I sold the pickup. Handled very well in all terrains even in the ND winters. They were a little loud, but that may have been from the lack of rotations.
Date published: 2017-01-20
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_199
  • loc_en_US, sid_337_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling