Light Truck Tires

Discoverer S/T MAXX

Discoverer S/T MAXX™ is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 63.
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_340_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Discoverer S/T MAXX

Standard Limited Warranty
Studdable
M+S Rated

The Discoverer S/T MAXX features Cooper’s proven and reliable 3-ply “Armor-Tek” carcass construction combined with a new, proprietary cut and chip resistant tread compound. With that combination along with its modern hybrid 4-5 rib tread design and unique tread features, the S/T MAXX is destined to be a commercial grade traction tire that will perform in the toughest terrains while retaining remarkable on-road traction, stability and low noise characteristics.

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Features & Benefits

  • Armor-Tek3 carcass construction contributes to the durability of the S/T MAXX by adding strength to the sidewall and tread area.
  • Blended natural rubber and silica based provides exceptional wet traction and confident handling on the highway, while also delivering excellent cut and chip resistance on unpaved, rocky and gravel terrain.
  • Stone ejector ribs help to discharge stones and resist stone drilling.
  • Enhanced buttress design provides additional off-road traction, abrasion and puncture resistance.
  • Alternating 4-5 -rib tread pattern gives a bold look, while providing enhanced on- and off-road performance.

Customer Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good overall. Wet weather traction is good but not great. Spin easily on wet road takeoff. Squirrely when new but feel normal after a couple thousand miles. Good in snow, mud, dirt, etc. As far as ice, nothing is good on ice unless you have studs.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product handles heavy loads with incredible stability The tire has done amazing with whatever I put them through. Extremely stable on my f350 crew cab long box loaded and unloaded.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tire Ever Have put on my 2004 Powerstroke and 2004 Excursion and have about 25,000 miles on both with about 40% tread left. Easily a 40,000 mile tire with limited trailer pulling. Spending lots of time on Interstate back and forth to the Black Hills of South Dakota, the Armor-Tek3 carcass is reassuring against flat tires with reduced susceptibility to nails, sharp objects that can ruin a road trip. Great on hot dry conditions here in summer and blizzards in the winter. Will never buy anything other than these as long as Cooper makes them. And, made in USA!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tires One of the best tires I've ever bought. Switched from the AT/3s to get a more aggressive look after installing a lift and because they didn't offer a 295 for the AT/3 at the time. Could be a little better in the snow but not bad personally I think the AT/3s we're better in the snow. Got about 20,000 on them and they still look brand new. Pros Good looking tire Quite Mud and off-road traction Tread wear Cons Throws large rocks Heavy Shakes at low speeds
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User I got 60k on it Used for construction get trough rock, trees while clearing the sites. Got decent cuts and still operating excellent. Good tires
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only tires i will buy Have owned and put these tires on my 3 trucks I have owned since 2008 and I love them. They are amazing and wont put any other tire on my trucks.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2014 Ram 3500 Dually Squishy feeling when new. Went away after a couple thousand miles. Work truck hooked to trailer 90% of time. Got about 24000 out of them. 4 are at the wear bars, 2 are past. Rotated constantly. Same tires on my wife's 1500, she's got 30k on them and they still have 90% of their tread...? So I'm guessing great for light duty trucks or non working trucks, but if you have a HD truck your better off getting something different. Going to At3 seeing if can capitalize on the mileage warranty
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good tire bad warranty These tires preform awesome in rain and snow but the overall balance of these tires are poor. Read warranty info before purchasing. Tire shop cant balance the tires anymore and i have atleast half tread left
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great tire except in the snow and ice Have had these tires on my F250 for almost 3 years now and overall they are a decent tire. The off-road capability of these tires is good, they definitely bite hard on rough roads, mud, and loose dirt. They also have an aggressive sidewall with a fair amount of bite as well. Towing with them is decent, I have not had any problems as far as instability, even when towing over 10,000lbs. Wet traction is fairly good. They also wear very well as long as your alignment is set for good tire wear and you rotate them often. The worst part about these tires is their performance in the winter on the snow and ice. Winter traction is awful, these tires have very little sipping and although they can be studded, who would stud an A/T tire just to have the studs removed in the spring and not be able to restud them again down the road?? Iv tried running them down to 35psi in the winter and the traction is no different, even with 500lbs in the box, they are still horrible in the winter. They dig well when there is a lot of snow to drive through, but once you work your way down to the ice, good luck. Overall they are a decent tire, more sipping I think would help the snow and ice traction. These tires also hold and throw stones like crazy! Definitely a good off-road aggressive all terrain tire, but not great on ice and hard pack snow. For the price you pay, there are better tires out there for the same kind of money. These are a very capable tire, just not so much in the winter months.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2014 Ram 2500 Bought these tires back in March of last year, (16) by far tires have held up pretty good, used them for 50/50 towing daily driver so they do see a load mostly every weekend, and driving on highway daily, overall good tire but I do feel when road is wet they do tend to give some lift bit of slip when you give it some gas, towing they felt good, towing dump trailer and skid steer they feel solid, boat ramp they will get you from down the ramp to the top, have about 25k on them and will need replacing in about about a month going to run them down to the bottom to see how far I can wear them down, overall solid tire just personal preference on looks, and driving conditions.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome wear, great all terrain tire I put these tires in 295/70 18 on my 2010 Tundra after the Toyo Open Country A/Ts wore out in just over 15000 miles and 1 year later. I have had these on my truck for almost 3 years now and going on 60000 miles now and still have more tread on them than the Toyos had on them new. I have had these tires in the mud, snow, gravel, wet pavement and lots of dry Arizona pavement and these perform great. Not perfect on every surface, but what tire is? I have sold alot of friends on Cooper tires because of this set and will definitely buy these again when the time comes.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great off the road, really hurts the MPG though I purchased my Cooper S-T Maxx (285/75/R17) tires as a replacement for BFG Long Trail T/A (265 series) tires. I've had mixed results thus far, at approx. 5,900 miles. Good- -They wear well -They're stable towing, even at max inflation and tow weights (8-10T) -They work well in dirt and, of course, mud -They look GREAT Bad: -Very difficult to balance -Bouncy ride (as compared to Good Year MTR) -Reduced my MPG by 4-5mpg, on average -Wet performance is poor -Snow performance is very poor -Interestingly enough, they are "squirmy" when unloaded and reduce the confidence I have in my truck's handling Overall, if you primarily drive on dirt roads or off-road, these will likely serve you very well. I primarily use my rig on road, 70/30 mixed hi-way and city driving. For me, these tires do not work as well as the previous tires. I recommend these, as I believe they are better suited for dirt than pavement.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for 3/4 ton and up I have ran two sets of these one in 265/75/16 and one in 285/75/16. The 285's got 26000 miles and the 265's got 21000 miles on an 06 2500hd GMC W/T 6.0 nothing exciting. i don't haul a load often, 3-4 times a year all under 7500lbs. All that said i think they are a great looking tire not very loud after 5k miles and they do perform as they should just not for very long on heavier trucks.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK traction - poor road performance I purchased this tire for my 2014 Ram 2500 as an every day tire for on road, snow and dirt. The first thing I noticed was the terrible "squishy" feel when the truck was empty - it felt very unstable. Any movement of the wheel and the truck swayed side to side. Pulling my 11K fifth wheel the feeling got worse. Tried multiple pressure settings - not much different. After 5000 miles I was done with these. I would NOT recommend this tire for any pulling or heavy duty work - just too soft. (I replaced these within 5000 miles with Toyo C/T and very happy) The Cooper is probably a great tire for light 1/2 ton pickup or Jeep to play in the dirt.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire ive put on my powerstroke These tires are fantastic. I had to pull a freightliner tractor trailor up a hill on a sheet of ice and didn't slip at all. They have done great while hunting. I found myself in about 4-5 inches of thick mud and packed snow up to my frame and these tires helped me get out with minimal trouble. I don't tow a lot, but the most I've towed was a 15,000 pound gooseneck for right around 500 miles and they did great. One thing I have noticed is when it's raining hard I do tend to kick the back end out if I hit the throttle just a little to hard, but that could just be my heavy foot looking for fun. Ive got about 30,000 miles on them so far and by the looks of it I will easily get another 10,000 out of them. So all around a great tire for the money. Oh and they also look good.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor mileage Only got 29k miles on them with my Chevy 2500 HD Crewcab
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best winter traction in 10 years on Ice. I plow winter roads on gravel and ice. My new Discoverer S/T Maxx tires have given me traction. Working in 12" of snow or the slush covered lake ice, I have never had such great traction. Today I pulled a truck and trailer out of a slush hole and I was on glare ice. My Maxx tires walked that truck and trailer out. Also my Maxx tires never slipped once.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Truck Tire I've Had So Far I got these tires put on with my lift kit. I had Coopers on both my Tundra and FX2 and loved them but they were the street tires and I needed a good all-terrain tire for my new truck. After reading all the reviews and knowing Coopers reliability I rolled the dice and took a chance with these. It's a decision I definitely don't regret. The pictures on this web site don't do these tires justice. They are very aggressive looking tire with some of the deepest tread I've seen on a AT. I thought they would be noisy but honestly they are about as loud as my Zeon LTZ and quieter than my BFG TA KOs I had on an old GMC. I've put about 3K Miles on them now and have had them in all kind of driving conditions (Rain, Beach Sand, Off-Road with a Little Mud and Rocks). The only place I haven't really been is Snow and Ice (Not much of that in Florida) and really heavy mud. Have not been stuck and have had really good traction.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for dry condituons I have 30k miles on these st maxx right now. Wearing good. Maybe another 10k left. Main issues i have had has been in mud. I slip and slide evrywhere. Have to use 4wd often even in shallow surface mud. Will try stt pro next go arround. Other than than not too bad of a tire.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5th set Love these tires, I've wheeled them at 14psi out in Moab several times, pinching them between rocks and the rim and they have never torn or punctured. Had my first time in snow last week and got stuck, simply was just solid ice under 6 inches of snow on a closed Forest service Road in CO. I've sold probably 4-5 people on getting a set, my brother 100series Landcruiser, and dad 2016 gmc 4x4, couple Fjs, and a tacoma.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excllent By far the best tires i have ever owned i had Bf Goodrich before these the KM2 before these, they we're great in the mud, but i was maybe in the mud a week or 2 out of the whole year, and the tread was gone in no time due to driving on the road everyday, because my jeep is my daily driver and running 35 inch tires between gas and tire price I needed to find something better all around, the second day i had these tires i took them straight to the trail went through so much mud, only in two wheel drive and I have a 6 inch lift on my jeep and the mud came two the doors and i kept it in two wheel drive the whole time and the tires continued to crawl out each time, by far the best tires i have ever owned and when these wear out you best believe I'll be buying me some more.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best All-Around off road tire 31,000 miles in, and 60% of tread remaining. 2015 F150. I like them better than my kO2s...little more aggressive and certainly ride stiffer than the factory garbage the truck came with.Minimal road noise. I also have a home in the Mountains of Idaho...I've been thoroughly impressed with the snow, ice and slush traction...so much so that I see no need to run a second set of "winter" tires. Note, I did have them siped. All in all, these tires have exceeded my expectations. I am a fan. I should mention that these tires have seen a plethora of all condition, as my truck is built and I run it hard all over the country on Hunting Expeditions. Certainly there are better tires for ice and certainly there are better tires for mud, but I do not know of a better all-around Tire.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a product that does it all! These tires are sweet! They do everything that we need them to do. They have a little bit of a hum and the mileage went down a bit, but they are comfortable, reliable, dependable, and suitable for all seasons. They are on a 3/4 ton truck, so it should sound and feel like a truck!?....right? We hear that they will expire around 25k miles, but we feel that the safety and comfort make up for the loss in mileage warranty. We, definitely, recommend these tires to those who want and all-around tire for everything, so that you don't have to mess with separate wheels and tires for winter weather.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This tire is noisy Have not had these tires long. I do not like the ride, truck shakes and vibrates. Have been back for Rebalance, helped some. I asked for the size that I though was right. Sales should have told me to chose a tire that was taller. Mt speedo S off a little. Not happy.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst winter tire ever!!!!! Worst winter tire I had ever had! I have driven on tires that are bald with better traction in snow than these. Your slipping with just a few inches of snow on the roads and cant even handle slosh worth garbage or even with foot of snow on the ground I am getting stuck with the 4x4 on. I should of stayed with my toyo open country Mts much better tire. Those toyos will get you through any thing and last much longer. you cant even pay me to put these cooper tires back on.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Probably the best tire I have ran! These tires are super tough! They look good and perform better! Quiet ride for a traction tire. Perform great in all conditions including snow and ice! They hold up great on my diesel pickup, which I pull trailers with daily. Best tire for the money hands down imo!
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved them at first. Wore out quickly. I loved these tires at first, but after only 10,000 miles I am more then half way through the tread. I was really hoping to get at least 30k out of these tires. I'll be lucky if I get 18k out of them. These tires look great but the tread wear is horrible. Maybe I just got a bad set.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal tires I had these put on my new Ford F250 Super Duty Diesel and at first thought I might have to live with less handling on the road in order to have off-road capabilities-wrong! It handles like a sport tire on my huge truck, and still gives me all of the confidence needed for off-road applications. I love these tires.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from F-250 Super Duty 7.3 Diesel, HD upgraded suspension for camper! This tire is very good for any off-road driving, including mud! That being said, it has good characteristics for hauling heavy trailers, campers, ect. The side wall resistence is superior to a lot of higher priced tires. Which brings me to the side-wall rating & loadings. E rated tire were hard to find just five short years ago. At 3750#s per tire is hard to beat with a plus speed rating when not hauling. In Arizona tires wear really quick on the HOT asphalt roads!! This is why the only four stars. No minimum wear guarantee? All said and done just blew the right front, no problem though, cause I really wore them down. That's when the noise gets bad and noticeable. I'm now going to try the ATP's simular to the Maxx but with wear a wear rating! Might buy the Maxx for a separate set just for off road work.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride. I've only had these ties for several weeks but so far I really like'm. I'm NOT happy that they've been discontinued and replaced. With as few miles as I drive I'm sure they'll serve me well over the next several years. The ride is great, no noise to speak of. I haven't had the chance to take off the payment yet. I haven't put enough miles on them yet to rate every category with great accuracy.
Date published: 2016-12-01
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_340_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling