Light Truck Tires

Discoverer S/T MAXX

Discoverer S/T MAXX™ is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 50.
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_340_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Discoverer S/T MAXX

Standard Limited Warranty
Studdable
M+S Rated

The Discoverer S/T MAXX features Cooper’s proven and reliable 3-ply “Armor-Tek” carcass construction combined with a new, proprietary cut and chip resistant tread compound. With that combination along with its modern hybrid 4-5 rib tread design and unique tread features, the S/T MAXX is destined to be a commercial grade traction tire that will perform in the toughest terrains while retaining remarkable on-road traction, stability and low noise characteristics.

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Features & Benefits

  • Armor-Tek3 carcass construction contributes to the durability of the S/T MAXX by adding strength to the sidewall and tread area.
  • Blended natural rubber and silica based provides exceptional wet traction and confident handling on the highway, while also delivering excellent cut and chip resistance on unpaved, rocky and gravel terrain.
  • Stone ejector ribs help to discharge stones and resist stone drilling.
  • Enhanced buttress design provides additional off-road traction, abrasion and puncture resistance.
  • Alternating 4-5 -rib tread pattern gives a bold look, while providing enhanced on- and off-road performance.

Customer Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK traction - poor road performance I purchased this tire for my 2014 Ram 2500 as an every day tire for on road, snow and dirt. The first thing I noticed was the terrible "squishy" feel when the truck was empty - it felt very unstable. Any movement of the wheel and the truck swayed side to side. Pulling my 11K fifth wheel the feeling got worse. Tried multiple pressure settings - not much different. After 5000 miles I was done with these. I would NOT recommend this tire for any pulling or heavy duty work - just too soft. (I replaced these within 5000 miles with Toyo C/T and very happy) The Cooper is probably a great tire for light 1/2 ton pickup or Jeep to play in the dirt.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire ive put on my powerstroke These tires are fantastic. I had to pull a freightliner tractor trailor up a hill on a sheet of ice and didn't slip at all. They have done great while hunting. I found myself in about 4-5 inches of thick mud and packed snow up to my frame and these tires helped me get out with minimal trouble. I don't tow a lot, but the most I've towed was a 15,000 pound gooseneck for right around 500 miles and they did great. One thing I have noticed is when it's raining hard I do tend to kick the back end out if I hit the throttle just a little to hard, but that could just be my heavy foot looking for fun. Ive got about 30,000 miles on them so far and by the looks of it I will easily get another 10,000 out of them. So all around a great tire for the money. Oh and they also look good.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor mileage Only got 29k miles on them with my Chevy 2500 HD Crewcab
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best winter traction in 10 years on Ice. I plow winter roads on gravel and ice. My new Discoverer S/T Maxx tires have given me traction. Working in 12" of snow or the slush covered lake ice, I have never had such great traction. Today I pulled a truck and trailer out of a slush hole and I was on glare ice. My Maxx tires walked that truck and trailer out. Also my Maxx tires never slipped once.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Truck Tire I've Had So Far I got these tires put on with my lift kit. I had Coopers on both my Tundra and FX2 and loved them but they were the street tires and I needed a good all-terrain tire for my new truck. After reading all the reviews and knowing Coopers reliability I rolled the dice and took a chance with these. It's a decision I definitely don't regret. The pictures on this web site don't do these tires justice. They are very aggressive looking tire with some of the deepest tread I've seen on a AT. I thought they would be noisy but honestly they are about as loud as my Zeon LTZ and quieter than my BFG TA KOs I had on an old GMC. I've put about 3K Miles on them now and have had them in all kind of driving conditions (Rain, Beach Sand, Off-Road with a Little Mud and Rocks). The only place I haven't really been is Snow and Ice (Not much of that in Florida) and really heavy mud. Have not been stuck and have had really good traction.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for dry condituons I have 30k miles on these st maxx right now. Wearing good. Maybe another 10k left. Main issues i have had has been in mud. I slip and slide evrywhere. Have to use 4wd often even in shallow surface mud. Will try stt pro next go arround. Other than than not too bad of a tire.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5th set Love these tires, I've wheeled them at 14psi out in Moab several times, pinching them between rocks and the rim and they have never torn or punctured. Had my first time in snow last week and got stuck, simply was just solid ice under 6 inches of snow on a closed Forest service Road in CO. I've sold probably 4-5 people on getting a set, my brother 100series Landcruiser, and dad 2016 gmc 4x4, couple Fjs, and a tacoma.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excllent By far the best tires i have ever owned i had Bf Goodrich before these the KM2 before these, they we're great in the mud, but i was maybe in the mud a week or 2 out of the whole year, and the tread was gone in no time due to driving on the road everyday, because my jeep is my daily driver and running 35 inch tires between gas and tire price I needed to find something better all around, the second day i had these tires i took them straight to the trail went through so much mud, only in two wheel drive and I have a 6 inch lift on my jeep and the mud came two the doors and i kept it in two wheel drive the whole time and the tires continued to crawl out each time, by far the best tires i have ever owned and when these wear out you best believe I'll be buying me some more.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best All-Around off road tire 31,000 miles in, and 60% of tread remaining. 2015 F150. I like them better than my kO2s...little more aggressive and certainly ride stiffer than the factory garbage the truck came with.Minimal road noise. I also have a home in the Mountains of Idaho...I've been thoroughly impressed with the snow, ice and slush traction...so much so that I see no need to run a second set of "winter" tires. Note, I did have them siped. All in all, these tires have exceeded my expectations. I am a fan. I should mention that these tires have seen a plethora of all condition, as my truck is built and I run it hard all over the country on Hunting Expeditions. Certainly there are better tires for ice and certainly there are better tires for mud, but I do not know of a better all-around Tire.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a product that does it all! These tires are sweet! They do everything that we need them to do. They have a little bit of a hum and the mileage went down a bit, but they are comfortable, reliable, dependable, and suitable for all seasons. They are on a 3/4 ton truck, so it should sound and feel like a truck!?....right? We hear that they will expire around 25k miles, but we feel that the safety and comfort make up for the loss in mileage warranty. We, definitely, recommend these tires to those who want and all-around tire for everything, so that you don't have to mess with separate wheels and tires for winter weather.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This tire is noisy Have not had these tires long. I do not like the ride, truck shakes and vibrates. Have been back for Rebalance, helped some. I asked for the size that I though was right. Sales should have told me to chose a tire that was taller. Mt speedo S off a little. Not happy.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst winter tire ever!!!!! Worst winter tire I had ever had! I have driven on tires that are bald with better traction in snow than these. Your slipping with just a few inches of snow on the roads and cant even handle slosh worth garbage or even with foot of snow on the ground I am getting stuck with the 4x4 on. I should of stayed with my toyo open country Mts much better tire. Those toyos will get you through any thing and last much longer. you cant even pay me to put these cooper tires back on.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Probably the best tire I have ran! These tires are super tough! They look good and perform better! Quiet ride for a traction tire. Perform great in all conditions including snow and ice! They hold up great on my diesel pickup, which I pull trailers with daily. Best tire for the money hands down imo!
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved them at first. Wore out quickly. I loved these tires at first, but after only 10,000 miles I am more then half way through the tread. I was really hoping to get at least 30k out of these tires. I'll be lucky if I get 18k out of them. These tires look great but the tread wear is horrible. Maybe I just got a bad set.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal tires I had these put on my new Ford F250 Super Duty Diesel and at first thought I might have to live with less handling on the road in order to have off-road capabilities-wrong! It handles like a sport tire on my huge truck, and still gives me all of the confidence needed for off-road applications. I love these tires.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from F-250 Super Duty 7.3 Diesel, HD upgraded suspension for camper! This tire is very good for any off-road driving, including mud! That being said, it has good characteristics for hauling heavy trailers, campers, ect. The side wall resistence is superior to a lot of higher priced tires. Which brings me to the side-wall rating & loadings. E rated tire were hard to find just five short years ago. At 3750#s per tire is hard to beat with a plus speed rating when not hauling. In Arizona tires wear really quick on the HOT asphalt roads!! This is why the only four stars. No minimum wear guarantee? All said and done just blew the right front, no problem though, cause I really wore them down. That's when the noise gets bad and noticeable. I'm now going to try the ATP's simular to the Maxx but with wear a wear rating! Might buy the Maxx for a separate set just for off road work.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride. I've only had these ties for several weeks but so far I really like'm. I'm NOT happy that they've been discontinued and replaced. With as few miles as I drive I'm sure they'll serve me well over the next several years. The ride is great, no noise to speak of. I haven't had the chance to take off the payment yet. I haven't put enough miles on them yet to rate every category with great accuracy.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from would buy again in a heartbeat I drive a 1997 f350 crew cab long bed 4x4 diesel I've put close to 30k on these tires and rotated them every other oil change (10k for each rotation) even with some alignment issues i am more than happy with the tire as far as treadwear. And as far as winter traction i am impressed, last winter i trudged 24 miles in 5-7 inch snow in rear wheel drive when i busted a u joint in my front drive shaft with a truck that has 70% of the weight up front and no winter weight in the bed these tires pushed along like i was on afreeway in july. As far as off road they are great in mud, however i spend alot of time in adams county WI were it is all sand they do alot more digging than pulling. I also am very happy with the tires from a commercial stand point i haul a 2500lb pickup camper periodically throughthe simmer and i haul many cars and trucks throughout the year. Over all my next set of tires on this truck are cooper discoverer st maxx without any hesitation
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent on and off road. Flat spot over night '14 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4dr. 315/70R 17 on stock wheels. The only complaint, and this is small; This size tire will flat spot over night. It takes about an 1/10 to an 1/8 mile first thing in the morning for them to get round. No one I have talked to with smaller tires has this issue. Great on the road, and in rough twisty canyon driving. Confidence inspiring, even with the tall sidewalls. Off road in sand, loose rocks, and rock crawling it is surprisingly competent. I don't do mud, so someone else will have to comment on that.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great tire on/off road! I bought tires 2 yrs ago after running a set of AT3's (55,000 on them and could have put another 5k+)on my 2012 F150 FX4 and wanted something a little heavier for off road and hunting and liked the tread design but was skeptical on the 10ply and the weight difference. WOW is all I have to say! I currently have 72,000 on these and rotate every 6,000. They finally started to cup a little the last 2 rotations but one would never believe i would get that kind of wear from a tire. Cooper has definitely done a great job on this tire and will have me as a customer for life! I was thinking on trying STT PRO's this time, but believe I will be sticking with the ST MAXX, thanks again Cooper for an excellent tire and a very happy consumer!
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An All Around Great Tire Ive owned many Big name brands of AT truck tires over the years and none have performed like the Cooper ST Max . I have nearly 35 K on mine now and they have plenty of Tread life left . As with most any aggressive tread tire keep them rotated regularly , I rotate them every 3500 miles ... If you take care of them they will last a long time . As for Traction , these ST Max Perform Really Great in gravel , dirt , Mud and Snow the tread lugs clean out very quick so you continue getting traction and are excellent on road as well .... I think Ive finally found a Tire that fits my needs and will defiantly be buying another set when I need them . They work well in all situations and give you plenty of tread life for your money don't think twice about buying these tires they are a good one ... Thanks to Cooper Tire , I Couldn't be Happier with a Tire ... Thanks
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire I've ever had I have these in a 35 on my Jeep JK. Great offroad tire, great in rocks, and also quiet and great on the road. Wet roads, no problem. Rides like a Caddy with 28 PSI. 50K mile tire all day.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tires All I can say is these tires have exceeded my expectation I'm impressed by the lack of road noise from a rugged tire like this and the handling at high speed is incredible get your self a set you won't be disappointed
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best tires I've owned. I have a 2003 silverado 1500. I bought a set of 285/75/16 st Maxx tires at 101,000 miles, and ran them for 97 k miles. three winters in the northwest, mountain roads in the winter and summer, and 90+ highway miles per day for work. I ran over a 3/8 by 6 inch bolt. the armor tek kept the bolt from causing any issues. the key is to rotate every oil change. that is what makes them hold up to any conditions.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent A/T Tire Mounted LT295/70R18's on my 2015 RAM 2500 HD Crew Cab, 3 inch lift, very little noise on highway. Aggressive looking tire, extremely pleased!
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great durability The tire performed well most off highway conditions. This tire did poor in snow packed dirt roads. I would repurchase cooper tires.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended Put these my Superduty and am very impressed with ride quality and noise for an agressive tread pattern. They held up to extreme abuse off road in harsh environments from mud sand snow rock. End of the day can take me home with a 10K load no sweat.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly Tough, but Quiet, Truly All Terrain Tire! I put a set of these on my Toyota Tacoma and when I traded it for a Tundra, they had 38,000 miles on them and still had around 2/3 of the tread left. They were driven extensively off road on our farm in all kinds of weather in some quite rough terrain and I never came even close to being stuck and regularly went through stuff my friends wouldn't even attempt. I also pulled a 24 ft travel trailer, boat trailer and large utility trailer regularly on the highway and the tires performed perfectly. These Discoverer S/T Maxx's never let me down. I made 3 trips to Wyoming and each trip drove hundreds of miles on rough two-tracks and washboarded gravel roads, and I just let the air down to 18 psi and the truck rode smooth as silk over everything, while we saw other trucks skittering and bouncing all over the place. Got caught in a blizzard on one trip and the Tacoma with these S/T Maxx's kept on going while other trucks slid off the road in the greasy morass of snow and slick gumbo mud and muck. The only tires I've seen that noticably outperform these on pavement in the winter are dedicated snow tires that are NOT meant for offroad use. My wife hated riding in my truck with me because all the other tires I've run were so noisy, but on our first trip with the travel trailer she commented several times how quiet the S/T Maxx's were compared to the other tires, and that they rode lots better, as well. I like these tires so much that I've ordered another set to put on my new Tundra.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Durable Tire Ever Seen I use tires in west Texas dessert country where rocks are sharp and slice tires easily. Prior to finding these I used BF Goodrich All Terrains on my F-150 and they chipped so quickly I was replacing every 10K miles. The Coopers are astounding in the durability category. No flats, no big chunks gone, still working well after 22K miles. Mix of highway and off-road. Just bought a new F-250, selling stock Michelins and putting the MAXX on immediately!!! Very satisfied.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great great truck tire I replaced my Goodyear SRA's on my 2012 F150 FX4 with these and man what a difference. Im from WA so we see a lot of rain and a fair amount of snow. They have very good highway manners for the tread pattern and are very quiet. The only time i hear them is when you corner hard. These tires preform well in the rain and very well in the snow. Off road they are great. I have never been stuck and they continue to impress me, I can't seem to find terrain that they will not get me through. I cannot comment on there performance in deep mud but the mid I've been in they were great. My only minor gripes with them is that they collect a lot of rocks on gravel and dirt roads and it takes a lot to clear them out. Also they throw a lot of water out the back of the truck in the rain... Not a big deal at all for me. I have 12,000 miles on them so far and have 95%. I rotate them every 3k miles and am running 275/70r18's. I cannot say enough good about them and i will be replacing them with the same tire when there worn out.
Date published: 2016-08-30
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_340_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling