Light Truck Tires

Discoverer STT PRO

Discoverer STT PRO™ is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_417_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Discoverer STT PRO

Standard Limited Warranty
M+S Rated

The Discoverer STT PRO is Cooper’s most advanced, extreme tire to date! The Discoverer STT PRO provides exceptional traction and performance in some of the harshest terrains on Earth. The distinctive tread design and compound provide remarkable on the road performance without sacrificing off-road traction. 3-Ply Armor-Tek3, silica tread compound, aggressive 3-2 center rib design, side-biters and more, all wrapped up in Cooper’s advanced mud terrain tire. Push the Discoverer STT PRO to the limits and you’ll “discover” what your vehicle is truly capable of!

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Features & Benefits

  • “ARMOR-TEK3®” Carcass Protection provides 50% more protection against impact damage than standard 2-ply tires.
  • The inner tread ribs alternating 3-2 pattern provides a number of significant performance benefits like: reduced road noise, increased stability and handling, superior soft surface (trail) and mud traction.
  • The “flex groove” provides a smoother ride by helping to dampen the impact generated by inconsistencies in pavement, potholes and gravel.
  • The Discoverer STT PRO features large, specially-designed cleats of rubber (side biters) on the shoulder area of the sidewall, to enhance traction and grip.
  • The asymmetrical scallops on alternating lugs direct mud into the mud scoops to allow the tire to pull through muddy terrains with ease.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good all around tire! Let me start off by saying I searched for probably 2 months before finding these tires and falling in love with the looks. What really made me pull the trigger were the aggressiveness and the advertisement of a quieter, longer lasting mud tire. I bought these tires when my truck had 9K miles on it. It now has 45K on it. Ohh btw my STT PRO's are 275/65/20's. These tires appear to still have 40% tread left on them. (I rotate them every oil change which is 5-6K) It's hard to believe they have 36K on them and I think I can get another 10-15K easy and I'm not the kind of guy to ride around on tires until they are totally bald and unsafe! I've heard many horror stories of people only getting 20-25K miles on mud tires. Haven't really driven them in snow as I am from the deep south. Also forgot to mention probably 20% of my mileage is towing a 16' enclosed trailer with 2 large atv's or towing a small utility trailer with 1 large atv on it. Here's the scoop. Good: Awesome looks and great off-road capability. Very good on dry or wet pavement (surprisingly). They are durable. I have jumped many curbs, rode through rocky terrain, embankments etc and not a scratch on the sidewalls. Not bad price compared to other brands "similar tires". Bad: They are a little rough riding but being a 10 ply with extreme tread pattern that should be expected. They are a little noisier than I had hoped for but coming from a brand new F-150 Platinum 4x4 with Bridgestone Alenza's for the first 9K that's a tough comparison. I haven't owned many M/T's but they are hands down a better tire than the Nitto Mud Terrain in every category. I also had Firestone Destination M/T's on an old Z-71 but it had a loud exhaust so hard to compare road noise. The STT PRO's are definitely lasting longer and are a little better offroad and hands down better on pavement wet or dry. Conclusion: Not 100% sure if I will buy these again or not just because 80-90% of my driving is on pavement so I don't really need the aggressiveness and I miss my brand new super quiet riding truck (and the wife complains about them) but if I do go back with another set of M/T's or extreme terrain type tires these will without a doubt be the tires I buy. May consider the ST MAX or the ATIII. Still undecided as I plan to get another 6 months to a year out of these.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasting better than expected I have had these in a 295-65-20 for 18k miles. They are on a 4 door long bed Ram 2500 4x4 diesel. I pull heavy loaded (10k-25k) gooseneck trailers often and run with 800lbs of diesel in the bed most of the time. They are wearing even (Rotated every 5k) and quieter than most mud's I have run. I drive off-road on job-sites and ranches daily and drive 400-500 miles a week highway and they are holding up good. Had a problem with vibration at first but after 5 different trips to discount they finally got the one causing the shaking road force balanced and all is good now. I would buy these again but from someone else. My other trucks will be getting these when they need tires.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cooper STT PRO's If you are in need of a new set of tires for your work truck, jeep or your SUV then consider the Cooper Discoverer STT PRO. It is a versatile, long lasting tire that has a wide range of sizes and is a practical choice for almost any vehicle. I have had two sets of these tires and I have found them to be very quiet, durable, and affordable. Cooper Discoverer STT PRO tires are a great investment and awesome upgrade to my pickup. Road Noise: Most people believe that using off-road tires comes at the sacrifice of a quiet cabin. My past experiences with these tires say otherwise. Yes, these tires will make a little more road noise than AT tires, but that is expected from a more aggressive tire. I have no problem hearing the radio or having a conversation with anyone in my pickup. If road noise is your number one concern when buying new tires and you want as quiet a ride as possible, then you may prefer a less aggressive tire. Durability: I had a set of 285/70/17 on my previous pickup and never had a problem. No nails, no uneven tread-wear, and no blowouts. I drive a lot of gravel and the treads still looked near new with 10,000 miles on them. I was so pleased with their performance that I just recently bought another set of 265/70/17 for my new pickup. I have less than 1,000 miles on this new set, and again, I am very satisfied with their performance. Pricing: The first set I bought were 285’s and priced at $267 per tire. My new set of 265’s were $247 per tire. In my opinion this is a very good price for Cooper Pro’s. They are very competitive in the light truck market as their cost is right in line with a set of highway treads. If you are looking for a high quality tire that you can put on your work truck and run at maximum tire pressure for towing, or put a set of 35’s on your jeep and hit the trails, this tire is versatile enough to do it all. If your needs lean toward an aggressive tire with minimal road noise that doesn’t break the bank and can handle whatever you throw at it, then this is the tire for you.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great tire. I have put about 11k on these tires and can say I put them through about every type of common terrain with the exception of sand. Pavement (daily), gravel (daily), mud (occasional), snow and ice(occasional). They have performed fantastic in all of it. Ice was not as good as my old wrangler authority tires but the wranglers also had considerably more siping. They have been easy to balance with little weight, road noise isn't to bad and the ride is great. They are at about half tread now so I'm a little disappointed on tread life if all I get is 25k out of them. I will edit or write another review when they reach the end of their life to update the actual miles I get.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire Another great tire produced by Cooper with an affordable price point. I haven't seen a change in the tread after 8,000 miles. THE REASON,, for most people talking trash on ANY tire is because they wanted the show truck look AND the performance as well. For eg. going outside of the factory engineering with ridiculous offsets and backspacing. Anyone that knows anything about physics knows you can't throw whatever aftermarket wheels on without reading about the consequences first. Not to mention, ignoring proper PSI and poor driving habits. Anyways, you will not be disappointed, definitely worth the money and time spent.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best off-road tire I have ever had!!! Not sure how some of these people are saying that there tires are going bald after 2k or 15k miles. I have over 9k miles on mine right now and the tread still looks brand new!! i have the 35x12.5x20 on a Jeep Wrangler and expect to get probably 50k miles out these tires. I will go right back to them when it is time to replace these!!
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tire I have had this tire for awhile and it has held up really well i would definitely buy another set.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They're the best looking mud tire. I bought these tires mainly because they're American and Nittos are not. I love the look and often get compliments at the gas station. I have them on my 1/2 ton Suburban and have done very little hauling with them. They are excellent in the rain and snow, however, they are wearing fast. I'm going to be lucky to get 30k miles. I'm definitely not happy with the tread life. I really would rather buy American, but Nittos last much longer.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STT PRO THIS TIRE IS ON AN 82 150 AND ITS THE BEST TIRE BY FAR THAT I HAVE HAD ON IT DEEP SNOW MUD ROCKS EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO PUT THIS TIRE THROUGH IT WILL TAKE THE PUNISHMENT EVERY TIME
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire well worth the price This a thing the best tire I have ever owned. Handles great. Light road noise barely noticeable. Great in wet weather and light snow haven't tested it in deep snow yet. I've taken it through thick mud, rivers, rocks and light snow and i can daub its amazing
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire for off-road use and highway I am on my third set of these (stt) and I hope they never stop selling them. I have averaged 40,000 miles on each set on my f-150 great tire all around
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good tire Have 285/70/17 on my 2011 ram 3500 dually. Pull a 44' goose neck horse trailer that weighs from 18,000 empty to about 28'000 loaded to horse shows lot of them you park in the grass if it rains it's wet. Never been stuck. Very good in the winter back end does not dance around haul round balls on a goose neck flat bed and work great getting in and out of the fields. No tire sway. I run 65psi in the rears and 70pis in the founts rotate every 5,000 miles no uneven wear. Have about 25,000 miles on them should get at least another 15,000 before needing new ones and will buy another set. May not be the best mileage tire but great traction and that's what matters to me.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire Ive had these tires on my 06 Wrangler for almost a year now. i Bought 5 of them in 35x12.50x15. im a technician and mounted and balanced them myself. All 5 tires balanced out very well and i can do 70mph on the highway with 0 balance issues. Off road for traction they cant be beat. Highly reccomend!
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These tires are great! I put a set of these on my jeep, which is a 50/50 trail and road buggy. They are great in the mud and trail and perform great on the road with no road noise. I am getting ready to put a set on my work truck and would recommend them to anyone that spends time on and off road.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality Bought them new right before my relocation move. Hauled a trailer 2k miles and had to replace the rear tires do to no tread left. Tire shop had a used set i bought to keep the same tread on my truck until the front tires shortly after wore out. They did great off road but not for all around farm/ranch work .
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is not recommended Tires are great, however they don't last at all. I don't even have 15k on these tires and the fronts are bald, the rears are at maybe 25%. That's with regular rotations and a good alignment. Very disappointed!
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic tires! So, I did a great deal of research prior to buying these tires for my 08 Ram 1500 4x4 quad cab. It's not a daily driver, I use it for hunting, playing in the woods and travel to work in the winter. I was looking for the perfect tire for my needs. I believe I have found just that with these tires. I have not had them on for very long, but so far they have surpassed my expectations! The road noise is minimal, they handle mud and nasty terrain very very well and evacuate debris like a champ! I have yet to work them in the snow, but since it is late October..... snow is right around the corner and I am pretty sure I will be satisfied with their performance. They are good eye candy if that's what you are into also! They are by no means an inexpensive tire! But I have been running Cooper tires on several rigs for years and I have learned.... You get what you pay for! Thank you Cooper for another outstanding product!
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TIRE I have this tire on a 2013 1 ton GMC SRW. Put my truck in two and a half foot deep snow, pulled out. Slammed the front right tire into a snow covered rock on the road the size of a basketball @ 40 mph, no damage. I pull a 24' trailer, no sway. I rotate every 2,500 miles. They are nearing the end of their service life and I will see around 30K miles with at least 2/32 remaining. That's pretty good for an aggressive mud tire on a 7,200 lb curb weight truck. These will be purchased again.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING TIRES These tires are some of the best tires I have ever own. They might be a little loud but there really nice they have great traction everywhere.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tire On The Market I have tried every brand tire there is in mud tires and this are the only ones that have a great ride plus the ability to go offroad.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for a heavy truck....duramax 2500 i was hoping this tires would be the answer... i dont think so , my truck just seems to eat tires , havnt been able to go more than 1 year on anything ive tried .. stock Michelins ,Goodyear mt ,Hankook mt,BF Goodrich ko2 and now these... itried running them around 65 psi rear end of truck was all over the road bumped them to 80 better but towing was the same waggle ... i think a good tire for a light truck perhaps ..the search continues
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tire Wear is horrible Bought 31inch stt pros last winter, got 7k miles on them. They are truly amazing. Theye are the best off road tire. But once you take them on road they will never be the same. After 7 thousand miles, they are at almost 50% tread. Even the front ones are wore 50%. Very disappointed, will never buy cooper's again!
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old STT Was Better I bought a set of these after the older style STT was discontinued for my 2001 F350 4x4. I drive a lot on both highway and dirt roads, with plenty of 20,000+ lbs pulling (way too much for a SRW pickup). They are tough as nails and handle weight and speed good, but after about 25,000 miles they got horribly loud, out of balance and started wearing unevenly. I rotate every 5,000 miles. Just not as smooth as the older version, but they are not bad.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These tires are great!!! I bought a set of these. Cooper stt pros when they first came out in my area. I've put about 25,000 miles on these tires. And have used about 5/32 . With 285/70r17's they come with 19/32s. So I would say these tires are wearing great. Unfortunately I wrecked my truck but tires are still stout. I would defiantly recommend these tires. Very minimal road noise. Over all a great tire. WIll definantly get another set in the future. Thanks
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tacoma Have 285/75r16 on a Toyota Tacoma 4x4 with 2.5 lift they're great all around tires on and off road had to do a lil trimming on to front plastic flares other than that great fit
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best all around M/T available!!! I've run km1's, km2's, kumho kl71's, fierce attitudes, trail grapplers, toyo MTs, several other mud tires and many popular A/T tires... I've even ran 2 different sets of the original Cooper Stt's and the new pro's are an amazing all around tire!!! They are great in the rain,snow,mud, highway and towing heavy loads or aired down at 10psi.... There road noise is minimal and they track perfectly at 80mph.. I run these in 37x12.5-17's on my Tacoma and I loved them so much I bought 35's for my new Ram 2500... They stick great to rocks and flex awesome with an extremely durable sidewall... I recommend these tires 100%
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quietest, smoothest MT ever simply put: quiet, smooth, great- looking tire. Happy with my purchase. Never heard a mud tire that i could tolerate on the highway until now. You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 37x13.50-18 On 2014 JK, Love them! I use my Wrangler JK for a summer daily driver and weekend off-road toy. I store my Jeep in winters, so my snow rating should be ignored. I've been to Rausch Creek Off-Road Park in central PA a few times, traveled to Ouray Colorado for a week of 4-wheeling and driven about 4,500 road miles doing the daily driver thing in Western Pa. The tires have exceeded all of my expectations. Tread wear at 5K miles is negligible (Rotated at 2,500), tire road noise is much less than expected from a large mud tire... almost too quiet! Off-Road traction on wet and dry rocks is very good. I've had them in watery mud and also in thick white/grey clay type mud. The centers do not clean out the clay, but the inner and outer rows clean very well and keep pulling. Overall, I feel that this tire with the ultra aggressive sidewall tread combined with a 37x13.5-18 D rated tire allow a 2 door wrangler to run 15 lbs of air and get great squish, awesome traction and great ride in the rocks. The tire really is the go-to tire. This is the end game, I need not look any further. I absolutely will replace these with the same tire. I can feel good about recommending these tires because they will serve you well driving to work and back all week, and yet they will let you go rock crawling and trail driving like a champ on weekends. Cooper nailed it! The look is amazing, people notice the tires and comment regularly. They have not taken on any of the typical BFG sidewall gouges that I get from being aired down at Rausch Creek playing on miles of sharp rocks, these tires just eat it up! If your a Jeep owner looking for an ultimate tire that can dual purpose like no other, this is it. Forget those others, I'm telling you... this is one bad to the bone tire that you will fall in love with! They flex, they clean, they grip like a hungry tiger holding onto a gazelle. I wish they made a bit more road noise, but hey... you can't have it all. I purchased them from a local mom and pop tire shop called Ambridge Wholesale Tire located in Western PA, 20 miles North/West of Pittsurgh. They mounted the tires on to a set of black LRG 106 18x9 wheels and tossed in the Dyna-bead for balance. They ride perfectly! The shop even donated a cool Cooper Tire camo hat to me when I came to pick them up! Great service.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite tire!! I wanted to write a quick experience about the Cooper STT Pros thus far. Granted, I have only had these tires for just over 90 days, I felt I should give an update on my personal thoughts as I have suggested these tires numerous times, and several have followed suit! Unfortunately, (or fortunately- depending how you look at it) we are in summer so I was unable to give these an in-depth review in our snow. A little background on Cooper: Cooper Tire & Rubber Company has a manufacturing history spanning just over a century and is currently the fifth largest tire company in North America. Cooper offers a handful of different SUV and light truck tires from very mild to all-terrain to mud-terrain. Each tire in the lineup is meant to provide competent highway handling but serve a second need in the dirt, with increasing levels of tread aggressiveness. Features and Benefits: The Cooper Discoverer STT Pro is summed up to be the biggest, baddest and most extreme tire that Cooper has ever made. Get ready to pulverize the streets and hammer through the mud with Cooper's newest offroad offering. This mud terrain tire is constructed with a 3-2 inner tread pattern and large depth side bitters to enhance traction, handling and steering response. The Discoverer STT Pro is equipped with 3-ply Armor-Tek 3 carcass construction for maximum strength and durability in any off road terrain. Coming through with great refinement, this tire also delivers on road with a quiet tread design, and solid road manners; Cooper's Discoverer STT Pro will truly show everyone what your truck or Jeep is made of. Source Armor-Tek 3 carcass construction: stronger and tougher composition to provide more protection in extreme off road conditions. M+S rated: Durable in snowy and muddy conditions with enhanced traction. Flex groove: maintains flexibility of the STT PRO, for a smoother ride. 3-2 inner tread ribs: delivers excellent handling, traction and even treadwear. Large depth side bitters: improves grip and traction on loose surfaces. Staggered tread pitch: delivers a smooth and quiet ride, despite the large, biting lugs. Dry Traction: The grip is great! I am running the 35" (305/70/18) STT Pro's and their ability to stay in line with minimal correction at the wheel is definitely top notch! With as bad of roads as we have in CO, the wander was minimal in comparison to previous tires I have ran in a 35" (or close to) size. Wet Traction: In CO, we sustain a decent amount of rain during our early/mid summer months. Actually, flooding is normal at some points. I had the opportunity to take them down some flooded roads (safe to travel) and multiple wet streets. On my previous set of tires (Nitto Terra Grappler G2's; 295/70/18) my tires would hydroplane in small, unavoidable flood spots leaving my heart bouncing out of my chest at times. I have yet to experience this with the STT Pro's! Road Noise: I have several personal friends who run the STT Pro's in this size and prior to obtaining these tires, it was a large concern of mine due to fearing they would be as noisy as the Toyo M/T Open Country's I ran on my last truck. Despite having personal friends who stated very similar, I needed to find out myself. To much of my surprise, these tires are not close to, or even half as noisy as the Toyo's! These tires are surprisingly quiet for such an aggressive tire. These are the quietest M/T on the market. There is some "road noise", but not as loud as you would think. They are louder than the KO2's, but not much. In Closing, I would easily run these tires again! I have recommended them to multiple users on this forum, and other social media sites that took my word and share similar thoughts on this tire. So, if you're on the edge of purchasing these- Just do ETTTTTT!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tires hands down So quiet unless cornering hard which even then it is a pretty cool noise only really noticeable with the radio down. They are quieter than my previous set of Nitto Terra Grappler all terrain tires. They have a hard time peeling out even at first rain in oil patches punching the gas. They hit reflectors/rocks and you can't hardly feel any bumps compared to any tire I have ever rode on. I'm all about high quality and my Suburban loves these amazing innovated tires. They literally fixed my steering problem (tilted steering wheel and pulling to one side). Everyday I am super grateful to know we are riding safely! Definitely the coolest looking tire. Coming from Nitto and BFG all my life I have been heavily swung and am a full believer in Cooper! Shocked actually on how quiet they are. Thank you Cooper!! Aloha
Date published: 2016-07-16
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_417_Light_Truck, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling