Passenger Tires

CS5 Ultra Touring

CS5 Ultra Touring™ is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 69.
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_408_Passenger, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 87ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
CS5 Ultra Touring

Premium Limited Warranty
Free 45-Day Road Test
W Rated - 50,000 Mile Treadwear Protection
V/H Rated - 70,000 Mile Treadwear Protection
M+S Rated

The CS5 Ultra Touring provides real-life performance, in real-life conditions for everyday drivers. The CS5 is crafted with leading technology and innovations that meets the needs of today's customer.

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Features & Benefits

  • Wear Square™ visual indicator allows you to approximate remaining tread life on your tires.
  • New generation coupled silica compound provides exceptional all-season performance, improves braking and lowers rolling resistance.
  • 3D Micro-Gauge™ grooves allow the tread elements of the tire to interlock and stabilizes the tread.
  • Stabiledge™ enhances steering precision while providing a better feel for the road.
  • Asymmetrical tread pattern reduces irregular wear by allowing tires to be rotated from one side of the car to the other.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2002 Cadillac STS with 17 inch wheel option This 235/55/17 W is the third set of the Cooper CS- series I have run on this car. Quiet, sticky, smooth, great in rain and moderate snow. Wear is good, although I live in rural farm country with some decent twisty roads and a long abandoned runway (for speed) and regularly "drive aggressively" when alone and in the middle of nowhere. Each of the 3 sets has done runs from MD to FL and back - comfortable ride and the overall quietness is a plus. I like 'em.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I've been buying Cooper Tires for all my vehicles for the past 20 years. The latest was a set of the CS5 Ultra Touring. Didn't take long to determine the roll resistance had increased significantly. After one tank of gas noticed a 3-5 mpg drop in fuel efficiency. This has continued since the purchase 6 months ago. I keep a close eye on this as I drive very consistently (used for highway driving only). Also disappointed in the increase in road noise. I used to have a very quiet ride with OEM's (Continental). Both were top priorities when purchasing. I would not recommend this tire. As the old saying goes, "you get what you pay for". They were reasonably priced. Don't buy them.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second set of four I liked my first set of four(purchased three years ago) so well I just bought my second set of the same tires Super quiet and smooth riding. I have a VW Turbo and tend to corner a little fast and these tires are a perfect match.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect tire for Subaru Outback I replaced a worn set of Cooper tires (I believe CS4's) on a 2006 Subaru Outback. The CS5 Ultras were a significant improvement in every way. I tried the CS5 Grand Touring, but they were inferior to the CS4 actually. The CS5 Ultras have much more nimble handling and quieter ride than the Grands. The Grands exhibited vague control. If you can do it then spend the extra money for the Ultras. They are worth the little extra money definitely.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth quiet ride I put these on my 2005 Mercedes Benz C230 and so far I am very impressed. They are extremely quiet and smooth at highway speeds. The Ultra Touring replaced Continental Extreme Contact DWS 06 and so far they are much more comfortable and responsive at nearly half the price. I am very impressed thus far....
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tire Just finished with our second set of Michelin tires and was not able to come even close to the 60K tread life projection. Both sets were at the wear bar at 26k. We asked around and the name cooper tires kept coming up. We decided to check them out and glad we did. We have a 2016 Subaru Forester XT Premium. Being retired and grand kids scattered across the country we racked up 72K in just over a year. What has impressed us so far with the new Coopers is 1--super quiet! the word spooky comes to mind. Cooper blows Michelin out of the water in this category. 2--Very smooth soaking up bumps nicely. 3-- Nice looking tire, works well with the factory wheels. 4--Easy to balance requiring very little weight to achieve perfection. 5-- Best of all they are rock solid in heavy rain I believe we made a smart choice switching to Coopers.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Tires I Have ever owned I just bought these tires for my Dodge Charger RT AWD with the 5.7L V8 HEMI and must say I am highly impressed in every way. Not only do these tires have amazing handling but they are also the quietest I have ever herd on a car. They also look amazing. I had Hankook Optimo H725's on there and got a little over 40,000 miles on them. Every time it rained or snowed I would have to worry about my rear end coming out. This Doesn't happen with these cooper tires. The grip is a game changer!! Cooper Tires you out did yourself with this Tire and you now have a permanent customer!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent tires so far! I just stopped by my local Cooper Tire Service Center, without an appointment, and luckily, they were able to take my car back immediately. I went next door to grab a quick lunch and by the time I returned, they were finished with my 2006 Honda Accord. I got a great price and on the way back to work, I noticed an immediate difference in ride and handling with the new nitrogen-filled, CS5 Ultras (this tire center nitrogen fills all the tires it sells). My car rides like a new one again, with 130,000 miles and the factory suspension. I haven't driven far yet, so I hope to revise my review in the future with updates. but, so far, these tires ride like a dream and I am very satisfied. Thanks Cooper!
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these tires! I went with the widest tire that would fit well on my 99 Mustang with the 15" rims - base model. 22560R15 - Yokohoma quit making this size - so I went with Cooper Ultra Touring. These tires are very quiet, comfortable riding, and seem to handle as well as the Yokohama's during out winter storms recently in handling and in braking. Haven't driven on them for that long yet - but seem like a great, well made tire - Plus I really try to buy American made products when I can -
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bad Treadware Very disappointed with Treadwear of the CS5 Ultra, which was listed as a 60,000 mile tire. After only 33,000 miles, the tires are down to 3/32 and I was advised to purchase new tires. Tires are definitely not worth the price I paid for them. I will NEVER buy another Cooper tire. Can't trust the ratings.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as they should be ! Replaced the Firestone tires that had 60,000 miles on them 4 year ago. That came new on my wife's 08 Chevrolet Equinox. The Cooper Touring CS5 tires are 80,000 mile tires and they will never make it. They have 35,000 miles on them and I will have to replace them before next winter. My wife already wants new tires. I paid $800 for these with road hazard warranty, Never Again !
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from expected more after several people recommended haven't had a hard snow yet to test them in true elements, but they do okay in rain and light snow. not noticeably better than my continentals i had before this. mpg really suffered, after measuring 3000 miles of the same driving, i'm getting 3-5 mpg less than the oem tires. noise and ride comfort are average...not overly pleased or disappointed. at least they're made in the u.s.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire Installed on 2012 Ford Escape. Great handling wet or dry. I haven't driven in snow as is wife's vehicle, but she has no problems. Intend to replace tires on '03 Jetta when they wear out.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome on my 2004 Volvo XC70 Some background, I LOVE curves, anybody can drive in a straight line, yeah I have a Volvo wagon but I've also have a Mercedes SLK. I was having issues with the Volvo after 87k miles, got lower control arms, helped but still nor right, changed out the struts, better. THEN added these tires to the front, had already changed out the rears due to a non reparable flat. Night, meed Day. Tires track like you are on rails. ZERO wander on a road know for being horrible. Very good grip dry and wet. Very acceptable road noise. Cruised from Ogden UT to Campbell CA, 13hr 22 min. It was like I was on autopilot. 90mph across the desert, crossing the Sierras, crummy CA roads. Best drive I've had in a decade. THANK YOU Cooper!! PS, Coopers are going to be replacing the Dunlops on my SLK.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horrible snow traction I bought these tires for a 2015 Ford Taurus and thought the 50,000 mile warranty ment it would have better traction. I was terribly wrong.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with these tires. Purchased these 9/26/16, have 2200 miles on the tires as of 12/26, on a 2004 Subaru Legacy Special Edition wagon I've put 147,000 miles on. They are firmer in town and I feel road irregularities slightly more, but smoother and quieter at highway speeds. It feels like I have firmer control on the road. Have used on wet and dry state land two-track roads, wet highways and very slippery snow/ice covered roads and they provide very good traction. I drive cautiously (at 69 years old) but they definitely feel like they firmly grip the road very well and offer better control than other tires I've had on the Subaru. I tested the tires in a parking lot covered with 10 inches of heavy snow, and these tires are the best I've had in preventing the back end from sliding when I accelerate into a curve, and they pushed the car through the snow without problem or slipping. I recommend them.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible These handle poorly in the snow and the tread life is garbage. I switched to General Altimax. What a difference. Much quieter too.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor value Purchased 4 Cooper CS5 Ultra Touring V tires on 10/19/15. Had them installed on a 2014 Kia Forte, had an alignment done at the same time, 42,444 miles on the vehicle. Now (12/5/16) the vehicle has 66,091 miles and the tires are worn to the wear indicators. Less than 25,000 miles from a tire warrantied for 60,000 miles!! Tire rotations properly performed every 7,000 miles and correct pressure maintained at all times. I will never purchase this brand tire again.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat disappointing but they'll do. Replaced CS4s that were wonderful in every respect. These have a drone at 35, 50, and 65 mph (+/- 4 mph, 15 mph intervals) and a bad high-frequency vibration anywhere above 70. Fuel economy has dropped significantly. Should have been a no-brainer replacement for my CS4s, but seem to be worse. Good wet and dry traction. I read many reviews, and ignored the noise and harshness warnings regarding the Ultra Touring because I thought I could ignore these or that the complaints were the exception. Unfortunately, I seem to have the very same problem. I will use OEM tires from now on to preserve the original character and tuning of my vehicles.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Tires First off I work on cars for a living. I bought these tires for a 2013 Subaru Legacy. These tires are really loud and make the car ride really rough. When you leave to drive the car it shakes till the tires warm up. I am disappointed Cooper made a tire this poor quality. From my experience I could not recommend them. Thanks to their 45 day warranty I get to return them.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing My tires are 2 years old, 35000 miles on them. They are LOUD and the worst tire i have ever put on a car or truck. I won't buy another tire from cooper.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tires I bought a 2012 Chevy Traverse AWD with 24K miles. It still had OEM Goodyear Fortera, but they failed before 25K miles when one started to separate in the grooves. I went to an old school tire shop and the guy suggested Cooper CS4, which I ended up buying. They were really good and an excellent value, quiet, confident, but they became a bit noisy after about 25K miles. When I replaced them after they served about 40K miles (I could have probably kept them longer, but I wanted new ones), I picked up the CS5. My Traverse had about 65K miles at the time and I sold it with almost 80K miles. The CS5's still looked brand new and they handled beautifully in dry, wet, and on dirt roads from the time I bought them until I sold my car. I felt like my family was very safe riding on these tires. I didn't have the opportunity to try them in any snow, though.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice improvement over stock tires I am very pleased so far with them. They handle great and handle great. Would recomend.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from CS-5 Sucks The CS-5 is a low performing overpriced tire, mediocre at best with a premium price tag. The CS-4 was far better. The CS-5 provides poor traction in heavy rain and in light snow conditions. I bought a set of 4 and always found them to be easily punctured. I frequently had to get "flat-repairs" for these tires using them under the same conditions as I used other tires. Would not recommend!
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Impossible to Balance Have taken vehicle to four difference tire shops, cannot get front tires balanced so that there is no shimmy after 60mph. Front end checks out fine and tires are not defective. I don't appear to one the only one having this issue per various comments on the web.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Installed on my new 2017 Hyundai Elantra Limited with 3111 miles. Factory tire already failed availability was limited. New tires was located but offered a 0 mileage warranty. My new Cooper Tires offered a great ride and handling plus the 65000 mile warranty. How can you go wrong.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great tire that is a fantastic value I was looking to replace the tires on my 85 mustang gt. The oem tires were no longer avilable, so I searched the tire manufactures for my size(225-60VR-15). I could not any. So I tried Cooper tire and found my size and the speed rating is h(could for up to 130 mph), which is sufficient for my needs. I was surprised and impressed. The tire has good handling, ride, grip, wear characteristics. I would have to say they are better than the oem tires that came with the car and they are great value in terms of cost to purchase. Thanks Cooper Tire. When is comes time to replace my tires in the future I know were to look!!
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handling & smooth ride 2015 Nissan Altima S is the car these are on and what a difference in car vs the tires that came with car, curves and wet roads are no longer a nightmare with these tires and braking has improve greatly as well grip, still waiting on snow condition's just to see how they do in snow before i stick my snow & ice tires on car for better security during winter travels.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cooper tires are great. I have been using cooper tires for years now. never any problems. have them on my daughters civic and just purchased for my wife's Subaru. the trendsetters work very well also. cheaper but get the job done very well...
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tires! I've got these on my wife's Nissan Rogue and what a big improvement over the OE Dunlaps, which I only got about 24K miles out of them. I have 12K miles on the CS5s are they're wearing great plus they ride smooth and quiet (not sure why some reviews say they're loud, weird) They're a great buy for the money plus they're made in the USA Thanks Cooper!
Date published: 2016-08-12
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_408_Passenger, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling