Sport Utility Tires

Discoverer M+S

Discoverer M+S™ is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 27.
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_206_Sport_Utility, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Discoverer M+S

Standard Limited Warranty
Severe Weather Rated
Studdable
M+S Rated

The Discoverer M+S is the premium studdable winter tire designed for drivers looking for excellent traction on snow and ice.

Tire Sizes & Specifications Will This Fit My Vehicle?

Features & Benefits

  • "Snow-groove" design technology provides biting edges for snow and ice traction without reducing tread element stiffness.
  • Strategically-placed stud pin holes deliver optimum traction on ice.
  • High performance, select versions are V-speed rated to suit modern, high performance 4x4s.
  • "D Squared" D2 sipe technology enhances winter performance while maintaining excellent wet traction.

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from NW Michigan Winter I am not sure why people are complaining about this tire. They are for sure a winter tire and like any winter tire they will not last. I use them from the time it first snows to about march/april when there is no more snow and the temperatures stay <45 deg. If it starts to get warm out they come off. I literally never put my 2016 4runner in 4WD once after using these vs the garbage stock tires they came with. I felt very safe using these for winter driving and a complete night and day difference using these vs. the stock all weather dunlops.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter tire ever I have close to a million miles on these tires, I put on 65K miles every year and I get my new M+S every November and at 65K there always some meat left, not a lot but some. I drive in snow on the average of 7 months, so I do use them as intended, as a SNOW TIRE and they work so well on snow and ice, it's hard to describe, as for rain and mud they still do a great job and never had a hydroplaning issue, I can always count on them and have. I rotate every 10K in cold weather and 7K when warm. I do know they are a snow tire and expect more wear when warm and in a million miles I think I have had 3 repairs. Hope they always make these tires!
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd set purchased. I originally purchased the 1st set when they were made under the Dean tire brand known as the WinterCat SST. Excellent winter tires. Even tread wear with proper 5,000 mile rotation. Road noise does increase with wear but tolerable. Hoping since Cooper makes them now that I will find the same great characteristics as the original WinterCat SST in the Discoverer M+S. Highly recommended for winter use.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best snow tire yet I drive over 30000 miles over mountain passes and have tried many different snow tires,this by far is the best one yet.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible I live in Aspen, Colorado and I run these tires religiously on my Silverado. I choose to run studded winter tires year round due to living in the Colorado High Country, and I get a solid year out of the tread with frequent trips and harder driving habits. Each October I purchase a new set. As far as the traction goes, my truck is 2WD, and these tires have taken it places it really had no business being. I'm on my third set in 3 years, and I fully intend on buying another next October. I highly recommend the tire, and so long as you understand you're purchasing a WINTER TIRE, it will not disappoint. Lastly, thanks to Cooper for making an awesome tire; my truck is worthless in snow without these!!
Date published: 2016-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fast wearing tire This tire is wore out at 32,000 miles and I started to notice rapid decline at 10,000 miles. Terrible in the rain and on painted surfaces on the road. Also got very noisy fast
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for plowing Bought these tires(245/75/18) for my 03 dodge 2500 for snow plowing. These are the best tires in the snow or ice that I've used in 14 years of plowing. Really reduced using 4x4 since the traction was good enough for 2 wheel drive plowing sometimes. Cant comment on tread wear yet. I now (sold 2003) use them for the winter and towing on my 2013 ram Diesel. Gets a smooth ride for a 10 ply tire.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snow tire in Colorado I really like this tire. I have them on my Ford Expedition and they are great here in Colorado. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In my top 2 for snow tires These make you feel SAFE!!! Sticks like glue to snowy roads. 31x10.5-15s went on my 01 Sonoma 4wd. I do not worry much about getting stuck anymore. These seem to be wearing just like any other snow tire.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved these tires I had these on a all wheel drive Astro van and they were great. To the people whining about wearing out fast, THEY'RE A SNOW TIRE! Snow tires are made of a softer compound. If your running them year round they will wear out faster. I don't know what people are talking about with them being noisy... They probably had a bad wheel bearing and are blaming the noise on the tire lol I will buy these again for sure! It's a great tire for winter and I never seen another tire handle wet clay like these! The cuts in the tread is the key! It makes them take black ice like dry pavement! I love these tires!
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Snow / Ice Tire I've ever owned These tires literally make you feel like your suction cupped to the road. Yes they wear quicker than othe tires but these are made with softer compounds to grip ice. If your able to run a dedicated winter tire you will love these tires.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire for my 05 Durango in winter. I've ran mine in the winter only. Handles great in the mud and snow. I rotate them every 6,000 miles. About to run them on winter #4. Everyone complaining about the road noise should've known a tire with this many sipes is all about traction. You get more noise and traction at the same time. Also snow tires are designed for weather at 40° or colder. Warmer weather will make them wear faster. After 3 winters and over 50,000 miles, I still am at 7/32 tread depth.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tire buy again 1 ton Ford diesel, hauling heavy loads and unloaded, change out only for winter, these tires 100% dependable, drove on and off road in ND and cross country through Colorado to New Mexico during January/February at speed limit, handles cold and ice dependable grip. Will buy again. Lasted 3 winters, averaging 50k miles per year.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire for winter on the market Average 40,000 miles winter/summer useage. Not a quite tire as you can see from siping but the best in snow I've ever had. Trailering/plowing in winter conditions also.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worn too quickly I have 14,218 miles on this set of tires and 1/8" tread on all four tires. I have kept up with the air pressure and rotated them on a regular basis. I'm disappointed in the wear that I have had on these tires. I purchased these tires on 9/3/2014 from Murray Tire & Auto in Nashville, NC
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not like - at all... I will never purchase another set of Cooper Tires. They make terrible noise on the road. I have a Honda CRV - and they roar so bad - you cannot hear anything put the tires. I have to ride with my radio on Loud - to be able to drive. Cannot wait to get new ones, although - I do not have a "lot" of miles on these. Nothing good to say about these tires!!!!!
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The product didn't last These tires had a 60,000 mile warranty on them and they looked and rode great but the tread wear didn't last past 40,000 miles and I had to change them. I DID NOT buy Cooper's the next time.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy and Great Performance I had Michelins before buying Cooper tires. I like them because they are made in the USA, are comparable and cost a lot less. In the winter no difference in handling and traction. They grip the road well, and are quiet on the highway. I will purchase this brand again. So far the tires have worn evenly. So far the tire performance has been excellent
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great on Chevy trailblazer Did great in all snow/winter conditions. The trailblazer goes anywhere with these on. With deep snow, rarely need to put in 4 wheel drive. Tread still looks new after 1st winter driving.
Date published: 2016-06-07
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_206_Sport_Utility, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Keep Rolling