Discoverer® AT3 LT™

Fits Truck All-Season

Discoverer AT3 LT™ is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 26.
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_458_Trucks_Pickups, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 131ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Standard Limited Warranty
Free 45-Day Test Drive
60,000 Mile Treadwear Protection

The Discoverer® AT3 LT™ with Durable Tread™ Technology hauls heavy loads with less wear and are built to withstand ongoing assault from dirt and gravel.

  • Designed to prevent shredding on rocky and gravel terrain
  • Extreme durability for hauling
  • Stops on average at least 10 feet shorter on wet roads*

Features

Dry Performance

The tire’s ability to grip the road in dry conditions.

Wet Performance

The tire’s ability to grip the road in wet conditions.

Tread Wear

The wear rate of the tire.

Quiet Ride

The measure of how quiet a tire is while driving.

Handling

How the tire is able to respond to driving such as accelerating, braking, steering and turning.

Off Road

The tire’s ability to have grip on unpaved surfaces such as dirt, mud, sand, rock or gravel.

*When compared to other Cooper® tires.

Tire Design

  • Even Wear Arc Technology™

    Tire shape engineered to strategically balance pressure at the tire-to-road contact area promoting even on-road treadwear and superior handling.

  • Whisper Grooves™

    The "Whisper Groove™" provides a sound barrier that reduces road noise.

  • Stone Ejector Ledges

    Ledges easily eject stones and gravel, protecting the tire from stones drilling into carcass and maintaining a clean tread for enhanced road traction.

Discoverer® AT3 LT™

Full Specs

Tire Size Service Description UTQG Load Range Sidewall Approved Rim Width Measured Rim Width Section Width Overall Diameter Tread Width Tire Weight Max Load Tread Depth (1/32")
LT215/85R16 115\112R E BLK 5.5 - 7 6 8.4 30.31 5.98 38 2680 16.5
LT235/85R16 120\116R E BLK 6 - 7.5 6.5 9.4 31.77 6.69 43 3042 16.5
LT225/75R16 115\112R E BLK 6 - 7 6 8.5 29.33 7.01 39 2680 16.5
LT245/75R16 120\116R E OWL 6.5 - 8 7 9.7 30.35 7.52 44 3042 16.5
LT265/75R16 123\120R E OWL 7 - 8 7.5 10.6 31.61 7.8 50 3415 16.5
LT265/75R16 112\109R C OWL 7 - 8 7.5 10.5 31.61 7.8 47 2470 16.5
LT245/70R16 118\115R E OWL 6.5 - 7 7 9.8 29.53 7.87 43 2910 16.5
LT265/70R16 121\118R E OWL 7 - 8.5 8 10.9 30.63 8.58 47 3195 16.5
LT235/80R17 120\117R E OWL 6 - 7.5 6.5 9.2 31.77 6.69 43 3085 16.5
LT225/75R17 116\113R E BLK 6 - 7.5 6 8.7 30.35 7.01 41 2755 16.5
LT245/75R17 121\118S E OWL 6.5 - 7.5 7 10 31.5 7.64 47 3195 16
LT245/70R17 119\116S E OWL 6.5 - 8 7 9.8 30.55 7.87 45 3000 16.5
LT265/70R17 121\118S E OWL 7 - 8.5 8 10.9 31.65 8.62 50 3195 16.5
LT265/70R17 112\109S C OWL 7 - 8.5 8 10.6 31.57 8.62 47 2470 16.5
LT275/70R17 121\118R E OWL 7 - 8.5 8 11 32.17 8.86 52 3195 16.5
LT265/65R17 120\117R E OWL 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.7 30.51 8.7 47 3085 16
LT275/65R17 121\118S E OWL 7.5 - 9.5 8 11 31.1 8.9 50 3195 16
LT285/65R17 121\118S E OWL 8 - 10 8.5 11.5 31.57 9.41 52 3195 16
LT265/65R18 122\119R E BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.7 31.54 8.7 48 3305 16
LT275/65R18 123\120S E OWL 7.5 - 9 8 11.1 32.09 8.9 54 3415 16
LT265/60R18 119\116S E BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.7 30.51 8.78 49 3000 16

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Quiet Smooth Ride Incredible ride! I was amazed at how much quieter these tires are compared to my last set. Great traction in rain, gravel and highway. I am more than pleased.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BALANCE PROBLEMS HAD BIG O TIRES AND SWITCHED TO LT AT/3 AND FROM THE GET GO HAD TO TAKE BACK FELT BALANCE VIBRATION.AFTER THIRD TRY WITH BIG O AND STILL HAD A ISSUE HAD TO CALL MYSELF AND GET A APPROVAL FOR A REPLACEMENT THAT I FELT WAS THE RIGHT REAR. ONCE THAT TIRE WAS REPLACED IT WAS BETTER. I NOW HAVE READ THAT THE LT AT/3 HAVE HAD SOME BALANCE ISSUES FOR MORE THAN JUST ME.
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent except wear could be better I use these on a Chev 2500HD that mostly hauls a truck camper. Roads traveled: About 60% highway, 35% paved 2º, 5% dirt/gravel. Reasonably quiet, fairly good in the snow, good in mud, excellent in the rain, rock solid dependable. I do not get 60K out of a set but, I suppose, that's to be expected with 2700 lb+ camper sitting in the back most of the time. This is my third set; God willing there'll be a fourth.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tire Put these on my 2004 Ram 1500 and they are great. I have 60,000 plus miles on them now and they have not let me down. I am a nurse and have to travel daily for work so weather cannot stop me. They work great for off road, snow, rain and daily driving. I would recommend them to anyone. Cooper makes great tires.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding heavy load handling, mileage Now wearing out my second set of AT3's on my Dodge Diesel. Outstanding handling and control with over 20,000 lbs on the back. The best sidewall of any tire I have purchased over the past 50 years. I am in the process of purchasing my next set.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best tires I've bought I bought other tires and they don't compare with Cooper
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cooper let Down I bought a Brand New set of Cooper Discoverer Size 265/70r/16 Really liked the tires , nice ride, smooth, and Quiet, yet still sturdy enough to handle getting off in the fields and working , But unfortunately all that changed suddenly this past Tuesday 7/23/19 I was in the middle lane of 465 moving along in a fast yet sturdy clip, when suddenly my right front tire just went flat , no rhyme or reason I quickly turned my signal on to get over and as usual traffic would not let me, and I can feel my truck leaning more and more I suddenly got a break and was able to get to a save place on the shoulder, where I was able to get my spare mounted and get out of this dangerous situation, I then go to my Cooper Tire Dealer he tells me Cooper will stand behind the tire and I’ll receive a new tire if my tread Depth is 2.32 or more and of course my were so he begins to break down the tire off the rim and inside is a small pile of ground rubber he immediately tells me warranty is void because I drove on them in order to get out of the middle of the Interstate, what was I to do just stop and get hit , he clearly sees this a new tire yet will not cover it due to it going flat as I was trying to get to safety what a screw job , never again will any of my trucks or autos use Cooper Tires
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was looking for a road worthy all-terrain and I found it I just clocked about 5,500 miles on these, and so far I am loving them. I put them on a heavy SUV and the fit couldn’t be more perfect. I get the rugged and durable 10-ply tread while still retaining ride comfort from the 2-ply sidewall. On the road they are smooth as any other all season tire, yet off road they never miss a beat. I would highly recommend them for anyone looking for a do-it-all tire. Side note: I originally purchased the AT3 4S and they were way too soft. Chunked on a plain gravel road. I think the AT3 4S is meant more for snow. Luckily Cooper had the 45-day test drive promotion so I switched to the AT3 LT.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AT3 on '14 Silverado Crew Cab 4x4 I am on my third set of Cooper tires. The previous two sets were their Discoverer HT's that I really liked. I could no longer find them so I tried the AT3 model. I DO NOT like these tires! I have had the distributor/ship I bought them from do and alignment when I bought them and again one year later to ensure the truck is running properly. I also rotate them every 5K-7K miles with my oil changes. They are load, they were hard to balance, they are cupped causing shaking and the tread depth is already down to 5/32 after only 31K miles. Never going to buy these again - period.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged all around tire for an SUV Time to replace the Geolanders on the 2003 4Runner. We drive on some bad roads and we tow a small travel trailer. Tire dealer recommended these tires, with 45 PSI of air or 40 minimum for any load range E tire.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AT3 Bought my first set of Discoverer AT3's 11 years ago for a Ford F250. I am about to replace them. I know you aren't supposed to run them more than 6 years old, but I hate throwing money at tires when the old ones still have good tread on them. I don't drive the truck as a daily driver, but when I am driving it, it has a full 4 horse horse trailer on, it has a 30 foot house trailer on, it has a hay trailer on or it is working as a snow plow truck. A good portion of the miles are dirt / gravel roads the rest are mostly highway. I have about 55,000 miles (+ - 5,000) on the tires. Overall review: (1) Easily the best snow tires I have ever had. (2) Handling has been all you would expect. (3) No change in handling with heavy load on. (4) Durability, well given the use I put them to, stellar quality. Not as quiet as the car tires city people put on their trucks, but those tires would have been in the burn pile years ago. If you want truck tires, these are the ticket. If you want to listen to classical music on low while driving down the highway without hearing anything outside, by a Prius and get some french made tires.
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great until the first rotation, then loud as heck! These tires are on my chevy silverado 2500hd. They were great for the first 6000 miles then I rotated them and it was like I put a totally different set of tires on! They are very noisy now!!! I should have stuck with my goodyears. I've had cooper tire in the past and had good luck, but these are not worth buying. If you want this type of performance buy a cheap import tire. If you want a good tire go elsewhere.
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't Get Rid Of The Shake I am just now at my first tire rotation. I wanted USA made and that fueled my Cooper purchase. They are on a 05 Silverado 1500HD. 245x75x16LT I rebuilt the front end, added shocks, had an alignment. Had them ordered and installed locally. Loved the look, and they are not what I consider noisy. The wet pavement traction is a bit lacking. The compound must be really firm. I can deal with this. What I can't deal with is how much weight they took to balance. Made me initially wonder what is up.. I also can't deal with the tire shake at 40mph. I get to 40 and it is like running on a washboard, almost like bouncing. It gets less noticeable once I get above 50. I wanted the new version, but got the 2018 version with the different pattern on the sidewall. When I removed the tires while installing brakes, I noticed waves in the sidewall on 2 tires. I've been trying to deal with this, but I have to do something. Really disappointed.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RIDICULOUSLY LOUD and HARD TO BALANCE DONOT BUY THIS TIRE!! I bought the Cooper AT3 275/65/20 For my 2012 Ford F-250 4x4 based on reviews that I had read here and on other sites all were positive reviews. I'm 57 have driven trucks all my life and wanted an American made tire. This is with out A DOUBT THE NOISIEST Set of TIRES I HAVE EVER OWNED even my mechanic couldn't believe how loud they were. Also very difficult to balance! I still can't get them balanced completely. The ride is lousy as well! My old worn out Nitto's rode better and were quieter and never had a balancing issue. I also installed new shocks and had the front end realigned. Very disappointed I really wanted to like these tires. The only positive is they look good. Buyer Be Ware!!!!
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AT/3 LT Perfect on '13 Nissan Frontier SL Just got these Cooper A/T3LT model tires and I couldn't be more pleased. I wasn't shopping Cooper tires originally and instead was looking at BFG KO2s. I couldn't get them as they're on total back order at my local DT. I needed a set bad and man am I glad I was told to consider these bad boys. Even if I had the choice to do over and KO2s were available, I’d choose these Coopers every time. I’ve learned a lot about tires since beginning to look. Cooper has made this line/model of tires for many years and this is their most recent 2018 update to the model. It’s the LT model signifying Light Truck. They changed appearance in the last year when they came out with three new models all under the A/T3 model umbrella. The LT is more or less the mid-range Light Truck “E” load/rated tire and happened to be the only LT rated tire in the AT/3 line that would fit the Frontier (265/60/R18). I placed the order for these through my local DT in Bellingham. I got a smokin’ deal from them on a price match. It took about 3-days to get them in and a day to get them installed. First impressions are I love the appearance of these-they look rugged in my opinion. I’m not in to mudding and don’t derive much satisfaction from how my truck tires look, but since having these I feel like driving my small pickup noticeably more now. Plus, I drive a lot on the road so I wanted to balance road driving with also wanting to be able to get up to Elk camp in the snow and mud and on rough rocky terrain. The appearance is very pleasing in my opinion and based on the tread pattern and slight amount of sidewall rubber, I think this tire strikes the perfect balance for both kinds of driving. Performance wise, after having them for literally a day, it’s a night and day difference in how much quieter and smoother these are on my half hour commute in to Bellingham. Super quiet-almost can’t hear them while driving. In fact, the wind outside against the windshield is even more noticeable than any kind of tread noise one might expect to hear with an LT-E rated tire. I previously had the original “P” rated BFG LongTrail T/A tire that I think came on the Frontier from the factory. In comparison with all things being equal-alignment and no uneven tread wear, I dare say my new tires are at least as quiet if not quieter than the stock BFGs. BFGs had fairly hard rubber and cracked quite a bit and became pretty loud over time. The rubber on the AT/3LT is noticeably softer and quieter and I expect will stay that way for a good long time. Obviously I’ve had just a day now and can’t comment much more on performance. Shockingly there’s been no rain over the last two days here in the NW. What I know is with this being Cooper’s newer line of AT/3 tires, they spruced up the rubber chemistry to include silica, which in theory makes the ride quieter and with the softer rubber will achieve better traction in the rain, snow, and did I say rain we get around here. The tread pattern on the new AT/3LT I think has in large part remained unchanged from the older AT/3 model. I’m told the water shedding, rock shedding, and long-term wear should improve considerably with their new rubber chemistry. I do notice on the edges of the treads some grooves that should lead to better rock shedding. The stock BFGs always picked up rocks. Overall with performance, time will tell, but I’m inclined to believe the hype on how great the AT/3LT rubber chemistry is. Everyone I’ve spoken with agreed the rubber chemistry is superb on this newer updated model. I should mention that Cooper is backing up their claims of rubber superiority with a whopping 60,000mi warranty on the tires. Pretty cool if you ask me. Last impressions are these are American made tires and while in our current political climate (especially here on the left coast) some would argue that she be a disqualifier, I on the other hand am proud of that. I appreciate the fact that some hardworking American in whatever part of our current these were manufactured in put time and effort in to designing and manufacturing these super high-quality tires. I’m hopeful someone was blessed with a good job, benefits, and income with Cooper because I and many others invest our hard-earned money in to supporting Cooper's place in our great Americans economy. Don’t get me wrong, I’m equal opportunity-I put ‘em on a Nissan and would buy a Samsung 65” TV if I could afford one… Just saying I appreciate American made things. That’s about it. Appreciate you reading this and I hope this helps with your tire purchase research/decision.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tire for duramax Dually My truck 3500 2013 Chevrolet duramax crewcab dually 4x4-235 80/17 10 ply E range. I bought these because my Toyo AT were wore out after 37k miles. Other store here wanted $300 a piece to install new Toyos, I was done with Toyo (paying too much for their name). I haul a fairly heavy trailer for camping (12,000lb). I travel on off-road gravel roads great traction. The sidewalls are great, heavy duty with durable technology. Excellent traction on wet roads and they are definitely quieter than Toyo AT. cooper AT3 LT took little weight to balance out. I am really happy with Cooper tires way cheaper heavy duty, quiet, great traction and Made in USA.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A/T3 LT I had these installed on my 2015 3500 Ram Dually about 2 weeks ago and so far all I can say is WOW. I had H/T3's on before and thought they did a good job but I actually think these new ones are even quieter on the road than the HT3"s. They handle nicely. I have had a chance for adverse weather yet so stay tuned.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tire is affordable, Rugged, and Beautiful. I have had these on my chevy express 3500 Ext. van for Two months and thoroughly enjoy everything about them. They're quite, look like an off-road tire that costs 300 a piece. I couldn't have made a better purchase at 125.99 per tire and then a 70.00 rebate on top of that. I'll never buy a different tire, then COOPER.
Date published: 2018-08-21
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_458_Trucks_Pickups, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Videos

Warranty

Standard Limited Warranty
Free 45-Day Test Drive
60,000 Mile Treadwear Protection 


Download the 2020 Consumer Replacement Tire Guide, Limited Warranty & Registration Booklet.

Reward

  • Wet stopping distance based on the results for the Discoverer® AT3 XLTTM LT275/70R18 in comparative wet braking testing against four select competitor tires, April 2018. Individual on-road results may vary.