Discoverer® M+S™

Fits SUV and Truck WinterWinter

Discoverer M+S™ is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 55.
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_206_SUVS_CUVS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 150ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Standard Limited Warranty
Free 45-Day Test Drive
Severe Weather Rated
Studdable

The Discoverer® M+S™ is the winter tire specifically designed for SUVs and light truck vehicles.

  • Pinned for studs
  • Severe weather rated
  • Extensive size coverage

M+S Rated

Features

Dry Performance

The tire’s ability to grip the road in dry conditions.

Wet Performance

The tire’s ability to grip the road in wet conditions.

Tread Wear

The wear rate of the tire.

Quiet Ride

The measure of how quiet a tire is while driving.

Handling

How the tire is able to respond to driving such as accelerating, braking, steering and turning.

Off Road

The tire’s ability to have grip on unpaved surfaces such as dirt, mud, sand, rock or gravel.

*When compared to other Cooper® tires.

Tire Design

  • Patented Snow Groove™ Design

    Creates increased traction through snow-on-snow grip.

  • Sawtooth Center Rib

    Increases stability, maintains even treadwear, and aids in acceleration and braking.

  • "D Squared" Sipe Technology

    Adds sipe density and depth for improved winter traction through-out the tire's life.

  • Strategically Placed Stud Pin Holes

    Studs deliver optimum traction on ice.

Discoverer® M+S™

Full Specs

Tire Size Service Description UTQG Load Range Sidewall Approved Rim Width Measured Rim Width Section Width Overall Diameter Tread Width Tire Weight Max Load Tread Depth (1/32")
245/75R16 111S STD BLK 6.5 - 8 7 9.6 30.39 7.4 36 2403 15
265/75R16 116S STD BLK 7 - 9 7.5 10.6 31.61 8.11 40 2756 15
255/70R16 111S STD BLK 6.5 - 8 7.5 10.3 29.88 7.99 35 2403 15
245/70R17 110S STD BLK 6.5 - 8 7 9.8 30.51 7.72 35 2337 15
245/65R17 107S STD BLK 7 - 8.5 7 9.8 29.53 9.25 34 2149 14
255/70R18 113S STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7.5 10.3 32.2 8.19 41 2535 15
LT215/85R16 115\112Q E BLK 5.5 - 7 6 9.1 30.28 5.91 37 2680 17
LT235/85R16 120\116Q E BLK 6 - 7.5 6.5 9.3 31.77 6.93 41 3042 17

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Discoverer M+S tires perform extremely well on snow and on ice I installed five (5) LT235/80R17 on a Jeep JKU Sahara. For winter operation, I wanted narrower tires than the stock 255/70R18. The Discoverer M+S tires perform extremely well on snow and on ice. The noise level is minimal to non-existent. Being load rating E, the LT235/80R17 are stiff and the air pressure have to be adjusted to a lower pressure in order to improve the ride quality.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in snow but don't last. These tires are good in snow, that's why I bought them. I snow plow and I never got stuck. I have had them for about 2 years and less than average mileage on them. Last year I had to replace one for hitting a pothole. The cords could not it. Now I have to replace another one I believe for the same reason. So I wouldn't recommend these tires unless you drive on perfect roads or are able to swerve in traffic to be able to miss the potholes.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely top notch On our 4th winter season on these tyres they still perform very well. Ours are not studded, and we don't miss the studs at all, even when "everyone" says studs are mandatory on SUVs where we live (Norway). Very precise in all maneuvers: Ice, hard snow, dry snow, wet snow, wet or dry tarmac. They gets very soft in temps above +10°C, so not meant for several plus degrees, can't complain on this as they are pretty much the perfect winter tyre. Quite high rolling resistance, so they reduce mpg by approx 10%. Now I cannot find them anymore at tyres stores, so I'm afraid I will have to buy something else next time :-( '06 Mitsubishi Pajero/Shogun/Montero LWB 3.2 DiD, 245/70-17.
Date published: 2019-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst snow tire ever! I have a 2015 Chevy 2500, and was told these tires were as good as Goodyear Ultra grip ice WRT. Not even in the same league. I should have waited till the Goodyear were available. As I live in winter most of the year, and have owned many different snow tires, I can attest these are the worst I have ever owned. With the Goodyear, I almost never had to put in 4WD, and with the Coopers, I can never take it out, on simple packed snow. Thanks Cooper!!
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for towing in mountain passes These tires on an F-250 4x4 are terrific in the mountains of WA & ID. I tow a 7000lb bunkhouse travel trailer to the ski hill as often as time will allow. The M+S are mountain snowflake rated and they have carried my family home from some of the best skiing / worst driving conditions imaginable. I’ve seen pileups, pass closures and safety checkpoints and the snowiest conditions I’ve ever seen and still hauled my family home safely. I run them without studs and use common sense in the iciest conditions. They wear fast in the warmer months so if you live in a warm climate take them off after the last frost. I am on my second winter of my second set of these tires. I got 4 winters and 1 summer on the first set. (They get soft and sticky when it’s 100 degrees outside). I just decided to leave them on when I knew I’d replace them in the fall.
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3rd set & Love em' I just bought my third set and run them all year round on a Toyota Rav4 AWD. I have been getting about 65 - 70,000 km using them this way. They work great in winter and hold up decent all year. Great value tire!
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These tires are amazing! I live in Northern New-Brunswick where we have some of the harshest winters. My All-Terrains (Goodyear Wrangler Duractracs) were getting a little worn out so I decided to get myself some Cooper M+S tires for Winter only. I got them in a 275/65R20, which is slightly bigger than the OEM size of 275/60R20. I got them studded and installed on the stock Ram wheels. The extra height is nice and they look great on my truck. These tires are technically designed for 3/4 ton trucks so they're slightly overkill for my truck but I love them cause they look good, give me extra clearance and they handle really well (probably cause they are a little stiffer to handle more weight). So far I'm really satisfied, they're well balanced and not noisy at all (quieter than my duratracs). I'm hoping to be able to run them for 4 or 5 years during winter only and swap back to All-Terrains for summer. If I can get at least 4 years out of them I'll be happy with the extra I paid for the 34" tires. The highway this morning was covered with packed snow and the wind is gusting 60-100 km/h. I usually white knuckle my way to work hoping the wind doesn't push my truck in the opposing lane. Not with my new Cooper M+S tires, I've never felt so confident at the wheel during/after a winter storm. I'm a new fan of Cooper Tires, I'll be replacing my Duractracs with the new AT3 XLT next summer.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter tire Live in the Keweenaw Peninsula of UP of Michigan. Get at least almost 300 inches of snow in the winter. I just have a FWD SUV and it outperforms AWD's. For example going up this one icy hill and I got up it without trouble even passed two AWD SUV's that got stuck on the hill.
Date published: 2018-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Tire I've Owned I live in Canada and have driven a pickup truck for most of my driving years. I used to be very attached to the BF Goodrich TA All Terrain tires and used them year round. They are an amazing tire and, if I had to choose just one tire for year-round wear, I may still go with them, but there really is no substitute for good summer and winter tires. I've run these tires for two winters now and just put them back on for a third. I expect to see at least two more winters out of them before I wear them for a summer to burn them right out. I'll get 100,000K out of them for sure before I have to buy more...and I will definitely buy these again. Anybody looking for a good WINTER tire should look into these. If you want an all terrain, I wouldn't suggest these as they wear a little worse in warm weather. Thanks Cooper, you make a great piece of rubber.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed with these tires I kind of thought these were a lower quality tire when I first purchased them but I've got to say they have held up quite well. I had a set of these of my 4Runner for the past 4 winters now and never had an issue. I had them studded and was really happy with the traction. I can drive down a dirt road covered in a foot of snow without needing to use my 4wd. I love that feeling of having superior traction in really bad weather.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best tires i ever had. I have always had cooper ties.But for rain sleet and snow the cooper m/s grip like no other tire.driving in a downpour they just grip,Driving off road in a foot of snow in upstate PA they grip 14 hrs blizzard got in my truck and went down the road,if you live where you have alto of snow. This is the best tire to have,total piece of mind in bad weather. Priceless.
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best tire on the market i have this tire on everything i drive...have used these for years....unbelievable tread depths....great traction in snow, rain, mud....best tires ive owned or sold....
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tires won’t last. I purchased these tires had them studded and they performed well all winter. I had them changed out for my summer tires with just over 11000km on these tires. Two of the tires were wore pretty severe in the centre and two tires had normal wear. I had run these tires at the pressure recommended on the door of the truck. 39lbs. Cooper is denying warranty as they claim they should have been run at 35lbs and they were over inflated. Winter tires are softer and will not last as long but I have never experienced this type of wear with a properly inflated tire.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great in the snow best winter tire for snow plowing excellent traction and deep snow performance
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd set, best snow tire ever... I owned a set back when they were made by Dean tires, called a WinterCat SST and they were great then. Now, Cooper makes them and they are the same great tire. Work fantastic when studded up. I will buy again.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-around tough tire. I put these on a truck that runs in rock and sand on the ranch and at the mines. These tires do well in mud, sand, rocks, and snow. I rarely have to use 4WD. Not much tall rubber sway like some. These are my new favorites. Very tough. Heavier (10 Ply) handle best.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just average Just average is about all I can say about these tires. I did get them without studs, which I hate for because of noise. I should have gotten a stud-less tire instead. The traction on compact snow and ice with these tires just isn't very good without studs. It is probably better than the average all season tire, but not by much. They are pretty good in heavy snow, but I don't spend much time on that. The other thing I don't like is they don't handle as well as the other cooper all seasons I've had. I suppose that's to be expected, but I put stud-less snow tires on my wifes car and you can barely tell the difference. Not so with these. Pickup is pulled around more on the highway and they make the truck feel heavier and less responsive. If you get these, get them with studs. If you don't get the studded version then get a good stud-less tire. Finally, they seem to be wearing faster than I expected. I don't know the mileage exactly, but if I hit 35,000 with them I'd be surprised. I think I'll keep them on part way into summer to get the last bit of tread out of them and replace them next year. If I'd had the studs, I'd probably be able to recommend them. Without the studs, there are many better options out there.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Put these on a 2013 Ram 1500 and they now have about 5000km on them. I've been running a set of the Discoverer HTs for the summer and picked these up for the winter. I find that most snow tires do fine on ice and slush but fall down in deep snow. I did quite a bit of research and everything pointed to the Cooper Discoverer M+S as an all around good winter tire that was a reasonable price. We've had a few weeks of 2+ feet of snow and I can't believe how well these do in the deep snow. I am so impressed. I haven't had any issues on ice or in slush either. With some weight in the back of the truck, it is like a tank. I can't believe how quiet they are on the highway. I don't even know they are there. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Love these tires ! Bought Colorado 4x4 in South Haven Michigan last Aug with tires already on it.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not good on ice Have been using these winter tires on all my trucks in the past but recently been having problems with icy conditions. The tires are studded and I still have to put my Toyota Tundra in 4x4 in icy conditions because the tires don’t stick to the road even with weight in the back. Great in the deep snow but on ice they need a softer rubber to grab better. Thought studs would fix the problem but still spinning tires on ice.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 5-12-17 just bought. I plan to drive these all year, I'll let you know what happens, alot of great reviews. Glad there made in America!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Tire These tires have never let us down once, have been using these winters for over 80,000 miles now. Been driven all across the Rockies in western Canada and the USA, in all types of weather conditions that mother nature can give you out west. I'm on my second set now, and these one will be changed out in the summer months, not like the last set. Have installed them on my ton dually and my RV with the same results. Go places where most tires just break lose and spin. Go the extra mile and get them studded for the piece of mind and your safety of your love ones on those family road trips in the winter months.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter tire Live in Michigan. I put these tires on my 2016 Yukon XL in November. Relatively mild 2016-2017 winter but when it snowed the performance from the Discoverer M+S was excellent. They were so much better in the snow than the OEM Continental tires that it was hard to believe. Worth the investment. Very small increase in road noise but easily worth the trade-off for improved traction and safety. 7K miles and they still look new.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tire I put these on my 2016 F-350 Supercrew and they are awesome . i live in Rural Ontario , Canada and i could drive in 20 to 30 cm of snow no problem didn't even need 4 wheel drive . Even on ice they were great . The rear tires are wearing but that is my own fault for not rotating . Still lots of live left . They were installed Oct 2016 . Will purchase again for sure and have had friends install them on their trucks as well .
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall Great Performance on and off road I use these exclusively in the winter, but occasionally the weather gets warm before I take them off. This is going to be my fourth winter using them. I only wish I had them studded. I still use chains for really deep snow or ice, especially on steep forest service roads. Compared to standard street tires these tires are far superior. They're not a dedicated ice tire, but they last far longer. I do most of my driving on dry pavement and these tires are holding up fine and are much quieter than my ATP all terrains.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire I have ever ran in the snow! I put these on my Dodge Dakota for the winter because the factory Goodyear tires are junk but still have plenty of tread left. They are by far the best car I ever rain in the snow! And for the guy who only got 32,000 miles out of them that is impressive for a snow tire!
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to, get thru snow tire I have these tires on a 3/4 ton plow truck; when they wear out I will replace them with another set.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Tire! Put these on and the next day I was driving in 18 inches of heavy wet snow without chains. I was able to go places that other trucks couldn't go with chains on. Night and day difference from my AT3's. These perform in all conditions very well. This is the 3rd season with them and the studs are still good. I bet they're good for 3 more seasons. AAA+
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NW Michigan Winter I am not sure why people are complaining about this tire. They are for sure a winter tire and like any winter tire they will not last. I use them from the time it first snows to about march/april when there is no more snow and the temperatures stay <45 deg. If it starts to get warm out they come off. I literally never put my 2016 4runner in 4WD once after using these vs the garbage stock tires they came with. I felt very safe using these for winter driving and a complete night and day difference using these vs. the stock all weather dunlops.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter tire ever I have close to a million miles on these tires, I put on 65K miles every year and I get my new M+S every November and at 65K there always some meat left, not a lot but some. I drive in snow on the average of 7 months, so I do use them as intended, as a SNOW TIRE and they work so well on snow and ice, it's hard to describe, as for rain and mud they still do a great job and never had a hydroplaning issue, I can always count on them and have. I rotate every 10K in cold weather and 7K when warm. I do know they are a snow tire and expect more wear when warm and in a million miles I think I have had 3 repairs. Hope they always make these tires!
Date published: 2016-11-27
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_206_SUVS_CUVS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 1ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Warranty

Standard Limited Warranty
Free 45-Day Test Drive

Download the 2020 Consumer Replacement Tire Guide, Limited Warranty & Registration Booklet.

Reward