Discoverer® SRX™

Fits SUV All-Season

Discoverer SRX™ is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 82.
  • y_2020, m_5, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_413_SUVS_CUVS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Premium Limited Warranty
Free 45-Day Test Drive
T-Rated - 75,000 Miles Treadwear Protection
H-Rated - 70,000 Miles Treadwear Protection
V-Rated - 65,000 Miles Treadwear Protection

The Discoverer® SRX™ is designed to provide a long tread life and maximize ride comfort for a wide range of CUVs and SUVs.

  • Maximum ride comfort
  • Quiet ride
  • Reliable all-season traction and performance

M+S Rated

Features

Dry Performance

The tire’s ability to grip the road in dry conditions.

Wet Performance

The tire’s ability to grip the road in wet conditions.

Tread Wear

The wear rate of the tire.

Quiet Ride

The measure of how quiet a tire is while driving.

Handling

How the tire is able to respond to driving such as accelerating, braking, steering and turning.

Off Road

The tire’s ability to have grip on unpaved surfaces such as dirt, mud, sand, rock or gravel.

*When compared to other Cooper® tires.

Tire Design

  • Stabiledge™ Performance

    Enhances handling and dry traction stability.

  • Wear Square® Indicator

    Visual wear indicator allows you to quickly see the approximate tread life remaining on your tires.

  • Silica Compound

    Competition-grade resin that enhances wet traction and gives an advantage you can feel on the road.

  • 3D Micro-Gauge™ Siping

    Helps maintain a stable shape during acceleration, braking and cornering, which enhances grip and traction.

Discoverer<sup>®</sup> SRX™

Full Specs

Tire Size Service Description UTQG Load Range Sidewall Approved Rim Width Measured Rim Width Section Width Overall Diameter Tread Width Tire Weight Max Load Tread Depth (1/32")
215/70R16 100H 740 A A STD BLK 5.5 - 7 6.5 8.7 27.91 6.89 30 1764 12.5
235/70R16 106T 740 A B STD OWL 6 - 8 7 9.4 28.98 7.44 32 2094 12.5
265/70R16 112T 740 A B STD OWL 7 - 9 8 10.7 30.63 8.31 38 2469 12.5
255/65R16 109T 740 A B STD BLK 7 - 9 7.5 10 29.17 8.23 32 2271 11.5
235/75R17 109S 740 A B STD BLK 6 - 8 6.5 9.1 30.91 6.89 33 2271 12.5
255/75R17 115S 740 A B STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7 10 32.05 7.48 37 2679 12.5
235/70R17 109T 740 A B XL BLK 6 - 8 7 9.6 29.92 7.44 34 2271 12.5
245/70R17 110T 740 A B STD BLK 6.5 - 8 7 9.8 30.43 7.76 35 2337 12.5
255/70R17 112T 740 A B STD OWL 6.5 - 8.5 7.5 10.2 31.1 8.03 39 2469 12.5
265/70R17 115T 740 A B STD OWL 7 - 9 8 10.7 31.65 8.31 39 2679 12.5
225/65R17 102H 740 A A STD BLK 6 - 8 6.5 9.2 28.54 7.17 30 1874 11.5
235/65R17 104T 740 A B STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7 9.6 29.25 7.6 30 1984 11.5
245/65R17 107T 740 A B STD BLK 7 - 8.5 7 9.6 29.53 7.72 32 2149 11.5
255/65R17 110T 740 A B STD OWL 7 - 9 7.5 10.1 30.16 8.23 36 2337 11.5
265/65R17 112T 740 A B STD OWL 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.7 30.55 8.58 38 2469 11.5
255/70R18 113T 740 A B STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7.5 10.3 32.17 8.07 38 2535 12.5
265/70R18 116T 740 A B STD OWL 7 - 9 8 10.7 32.6 8.46 41 2756 12.5
235/65R18 106T 740 A B STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7 9.4 30.12 7.6 33 2094 11.5
255/65R18 111T 740 A B STD BLK 7 - 9 7.5 10.2 31.14 8.23 35 2403 11.5
265/65R18 114T 740 A B STD BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.5 31.54 8.58 37 2601 11.5
275/65R18 116T 740 A B STD BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.9 32.13 8.82 40 2756 11.5
235/60R18 107V 700 A A XL BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7 9.5 29.09 6.73 35 2149 11
245/60R18 105H 740 A A STD BLK 7 - 8.5 7 9.4 29.72 7.99 32 2039 11.5
265/60R18 110T 740 A B STD BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.6 30.51 8.7 37 2337 11.5
235/55R18 100V 700 A A STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7.5 9.8 28.27 8.03 32 1764 11
255/55R18 109V 700 A A XL BLK 7 - 9 8 10.4 29.06 7.44 38 2271 11
255/60R19 109H 740 A A STD BLK 7 - 9 7.5 10.1 31.22 8.31 37 2271 11.5
225/55R19 99H 740 A A STD BLK 6 - 8 7 9.1 28.78 7.68 30 1709 11.5
245/55R19 103H 740 A A STD BLK 7 - 8.5 7.5 9.8 29.8 8.19 33 1929 11.5
255/50R19 107V 700 A A XL BLK 7 - 9 8 10.2 29.02 7.56 35 2149 11
245/60R20 107H 740 A A STD BLK 7 - 8.5 7 9.7 31.69 7.99 36 2149 11.5
275/60R20 115T 740 A B STD BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8 10.7 33.19 8.94 41 2679 11.5
235/55R20 102H 740 A A STD BLK 6.5 - 8.5 7.5 9.5 30.16 7.99 34 1874 11.5
255/55R20 110H 740 A A XL BLK 7 - 9 8 10.3 31.22 8.58 39 2337 11.5
275/55R20 117H 740 A A XL BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8.5 11.1 31.89 9.21 42 2833 11.5
245/50R20 102V 700 A A STD BLK 7 - 8.5 7.5 9.8 29.65 7.2 33 1874 11
255/50R20 109H 740 A A XL BLK 7 - 9 8 10.4 30.08 8.58 37 2271 11.5
265/50R20 107T 740 A B STD BLK 7.5 - 9.5 8.5 10.7 30.63 8.82 36 2149 11.5
275/45R20 110V 700 A A XL BLK 8.5 - 10.5 9 10.7 29.76 9.25 39 2337 11
285/45R22 114H 740 A A XL BLK 9 - 10.5 9.5 11.4 32.05 10.12 45 2601 11.5

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from good Ride but VERY NOISY! These tires rode well and wore well but became VERY NOISY at about 25,000 miles. We rode on them another 15,000 miles and the roaring got worse. Finally contacted Cooper Tire and the tire dealer. Settled for a 30% discount on new tires from Cooper and the dealer. I think that was fair.
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tire At about half life by now and these tires preform awesome. Best tires so far for 4Runner limited 20” Will definitely buy again
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ***** ALWAYS PURCHASED COOPER TIRES , THESE SRX TIRES ON MY SUV , OUT PERFORM ANY OTHER TIRES I HAVE EVER HAD , WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TIRE.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, dependable tires! These are the only tires I use. I put them on my 2012 Honda CRV and I have gone 100mph with no vibration or anything, smooth as butter. I live in the north east and drive in snow, slush and ice. These tires with the AWD get me through everything. I even climbed a muddy pretty decent hill and the two guys in front of me in a jeep and pick up truck even said I'm surprised you made it up. If you have a larger vehicle like a 4X4 pick up, I would recommend the Discoverer AT3 tires.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from QC Issues: Not the Cooper I used to know This tire came highly recommended so I figured I would give them a try. The purchase was made through a reputable tire shop and I had them installed on a Ram 1500 without issue. When I got up to Interstate speeds I felt a shake at certain speeds (55, 66, & 86mph) . Since then I have had different shops attempt to balance these tires no less than 7 times. 2 of those were road force balances on my dime. Sure it get's a little better each time but it seems to be getting worse as these tires age. I now have severe vibrations at high speed, low speed, and braking. I think these tires are just BAD so I would stay away. Not sure where Cooper went wrong with their molding process but If i could return these I would. It's a shame b/c these tires look great on paper. Not so much in the real world.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real nice, quiet ride Purchased a set of these tires for my Blazer, the tires were very quiet compared to the B.F.Good rich tires I had on there previously. Very nice smooth ride going 75 MPH on the highway.I would recommend these tires to anyone.
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased with this Tire! I purchased these tires, because I travel unpaved and gravel roads regularly. I wanted a sturdier more rugged tire. I knew I would most likely sacrifice some gas mileage, and the tires may be louder than a less aggressive tire. They have been great in the snow and on unpaved roads. I have had the tires approximately 18 months and have put about 20,000 miles on them. I'm very pleased with these tires so far.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Road Noise!!!!! Purchased these tires for our 15' Nissan Rogue, some reviews had them as great in snowy Northeast Conditions. As soon as we had them put on there was more road noise than our Michelin Defender LTX M/S. 7,000 miles later and the noise has continued to get considerably worse to the point of giving us a head ache on any longer trips. I will update review after I speak with Cooper but as of now, I cant wait to get these tires off my SUV. Other reviews stated bad road noise, but you take those reviews w a grain of salt, I should have heeded the warnings and went back with the Michelin Defender LTX's.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No smooth ride here! I bought the SRX for my Tacoma. These are the worse tires I’ve ever bought. I have 2 that vibrate awful at highway speeds and they are noisy. Sound like a mud tire. Been to 3 different tire shops to have them rebalanced with no success. It is defiantly the tires as I can rotate them on the truck and the vibration moves. Also no help at all from Cooper. Just the old fashioned run around.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tire ever! Don't think twice Bought this tire in 2016 for my 2012 Mazda CX9. Just ordered another set because I loved them so much. Just shy of 60k mile wear but I have a cervical disc issue and these are the best riding tire. Contrary to other reviews I have had no noise issues with these even now as I get ready to replace them. They have handled Michigan winters well and no issues on the highway in downpouring rain or slush. These came highly recommended from our local tire dealer and I have never been disappointed.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Above average but no 70,000 mile tire. Good overall experience, tires have performed well with the exception of a shorter than expected tread life. Roughly 35,000 miles and we’re 1/32 from the wear bars in the center section of the tire running a consistent 35psi. Slight shimmy at 80mph I cant completely attribute to the tires and a few slow bead leaks but overall I’d buy them again.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snow traction On my second set of these tires on my truck. Liked them so much I purchased a set for the wife's Expedition. Absolutely love the quiet and smooth ride compared to the Firestone tires I had before. First set lasted a little over 50K miles and currently 25K into the second set. Roads I drive on aren't the greatest which I think impacts the tread life negatively. Unbelievable how much quieter these tires are.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth on Dry Road & Snow, But a tiny bit of Shaky on Rainy Highway Speeds.. 2006 Honda Pilot with 235-70 R16 and these Cooper Discoverer SRXs' were great in the Spring, Summer and Winter snow of Southern Wisconsin this 2018 into 2019.. I have put almost 14,000 North American Miles on them.. they have been to Georgia and Tennessee twice.. it seems not all roads are smooth. I realize this, but in heavy rains on certain roads there is a slight shaky feel at 66-75mph. Tires are balanced and Farm and Fleet in Milwaukee Wisconsin inspected all Components and My Local Honda Dealer 'Wilde' of Waukesha.. just changed Most of the cars fluids, Trans, rear axle and engine oil.. All tie rod ends and suspension and control arms in Good condition as per Dealers.. The shaky I observed 2 times in heavy down poor conditions.. According to 2 techs must be the ability or lack of the tire tread to clear water out of the tread.. and this is what must have caused this slight shaky vibration.. Other then that I plan to rotate and balance the tires as per Coopers recommended times.. For these tires it is 5,000-8,000 miles North American. I would probably buy again, but I definetly like the unique pattern of rubber vs the traditional tire with just some irregular shaped treads.. the extra encompassing continual beads seem to add to the comfort and grip at 32lbs tire pressure.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tire Quiet reliable tire (even with low profile 285/45/22 size). I have used Cooper tires on several vehicles and have found the quality, ride, and mileage to be above and beyond the competition. Dry/Wet/Snow? It doesn't matter.. The SRX is typical of the other Cooper tires I have owned.. I just don't see ANY reason to buy anything else.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Short life tires I have had these tires for just over 15000 miles. All 4 tires are worn out. Very hard to keep balanced.
Date published: 2019-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quiet tire, good even wear, but only 55,000 km on tires Wanted to try Coopers for a while now. Overall a nice, very quiet, very stable, even wearing tire. Only problem is they only lasted 55,000 km, well below the expected 110,000 wear out. Overall excellent overall, just tread wear was bad. Would I buy them again, No. Back to Michelins. There was no aggressive driving, 100kph max on highways.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tire Replaced Brigstone that came on 2016 Tacoma 4wd double cab short bed, SRX were quiet , very smooth tire with very good wet and snow traction. Have 10K on tires awesome tread wear should get 75K no trouble. 4 Runner getting another set today, cant wait for quiet improved performance ride
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best SUV tire I have owned These are the best SUV tires I have owned. Decided to go with the SRXs for a quiet and comfortable ride. I have had no problems on Ice in snow, or off-road! I like them so much they are on both my SUVs!!!
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new tires! I needed new tires for my 2016 Ford Explorer and spent months researching tires. I wanted something that would be good for wet roads, some snow, and some light off roading. I have only had the tires for a couple hundred miles and only driven on dry roads so far, but I absolutely love these tires so far! The car has much less body roll than it did with those expensive M tires. It’s much stable and grips the road so much better. The ride is quiet, and definitely much smoother than before but that could have been because I was at 4/32 tread. I hope these tires continue to perform well and exceed my expectations. If all goes well, Coopertire has a new lifetime customer here!
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loud and unstable I replaced a set of Michelin tires with the Cooper Discover SRX tires on my Buick Enclave in early 2017. I noticed the road noise immediately but figured I would just live with it. Rotated them at 7k miles and again at another 6k miles. After the second rotation the shop that put the tires on mentioned they may be loud for a bit as they are “chunky”. After a few hindered miles and my first trip on the highway I had to pull over as the road noise and thumping sounded like I had a flat tire. This was inconsistent and after a few thousand miles I took them back to the shop. They works with Cooper to get them replaced for free. The new set is still ver loud and I won’t be buying Coopers again. The good on these tires is traction. They were excellent in snow and rain. If you like a smooth quiet ride, these are not the tire.
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Sticky. Very sticky. Whether im on 3B stone, dirt, pavement, gravel, highway or back road. Heck even mud. These things are great. Don't stop makin em. Im buyin more. Thanks cooper. Made in America. Chevy avalanche overlander.
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tires Great tires! I had them put on my wife's Jeep Cherokee, and 2 days later we were on a 750 mile road trip. Tires ride great, smooth, and quiet. We drove in heat, humidity, and rain. Traction was reliable/predictable. Even gained about 1 mpg over the factory continentals. I cant believe some people say these tires are loud. Maybe they had some bad ones....
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loud and unstable on 2016 Mazda CX-9 AWD GT I bought a set of these to replace factory tires. There are two flaws I found. As the speed above 40mph the SRX generates loud thumming noise especially on smooth new asphalt pavement and I cannot cover it with stereo. I can also feel cars rolling and wandering a lot on parallel grooved concrete pavement especially on highways and the passengers can feel it, too.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy and groove wandering I bought a set of these to replace OE tire which was Falken Ziex CT50 A/S. It has two flaws make me would like to replace them as soon as I could even though they are only 6000-mile old. I realized the flaws too late otherwise I would return them to the shop. As the speed above 40mph the SRX resonates much louder humming noise especially on good and new asphalt pavement (for example: US-23 near Ann Arbor, MI) and I cannot cover it with stereo. I can also feel cars rolling and wandering really bad on parallel grooved concrete pavement (for example: Telegraph Rd near Bloomfield, MI; I-96 near Lansing, MI; I-275 near Novi, MI; I-94 near Detroit Airport) and the passengers can feel it, too. These two make driving on highways to be a nightmare.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around tire I took a chance on these being a somewhat new tire. I bought them in December of 2017 and just turned 10,000 miles on these tires. I thought it would be a good time to review them. The tire techs were pushing me toward a more aggressive tread. Where I live I drive my 03 F-150 98% of the time on hard roads. I found this tire to excel in all ways including the snow which I was a little surprised about. It is extremely quiet and reasonably priced.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tires so far... I have a 2017 Ford Explorer with 255/50R20 and I just replaced my OEM Hankooks which I got 30k out of them which I understand is pretty good compared to what other have gotten out of their OEM Hankooks. I've compared the two tires and did a noise check on the same road while taking my car to get the new tires and then on that same road with the new Discoverer SRX. The SRX perform very well and are quieter than the Hankooks. Hope to send another reply when they have 65k on them and have performed well.
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I'm a long time Cooper tire owner and I'm extremely disappointed with these tires. Have them on my Ford Flex. They have the worst road noise of any tire I've ever purchased. The factory tires were silent and these sound like an airplane engine. Have had them on for 10,000 miles and the road noise just increases. They handle well in Michigan winters but I would never buy these or recommend them to anyone. Tread wear is disappointing too. I was so concerned with the extreme noise I had my mechanic make sure that there were no mechanical issues with my vehicle. Sadly, these are the worst tires ever. I'm considering getting rid of them and buying new tires because the noise is so bad. Complete waste of money.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Venza These tires added a quiet stability to this vehicle that I had no idea was possible. They were also excellent in this horrendous winter here in Pa.I have been buying Cooper tires for years for my Subarus and have been a happy return customer. These tires, and I know its only been about 4,000 miles, have exceeded my expectations. If you are a Venza owner (4 cylinder)and are looking for an upgrade in a 19"tire....give this one a try.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smooooth 2016 Ford Explorer Sport 255/50/20 with 65,000 miles and 35.1 psi with consistent rotation at 5,000 miles. I’ll start by saying I’m a Michelin guy. These tires replaced the Premier LTX that were completely shot after 50,000 miles. Previously replaced the junk OEM Hankooks at 15,000 miles. After reading many, many reviews and being impressed with a set of Cooper AT3’s that I put on my 1999 Wrangler, I thought I would give the SRX’s a try on the Explorer. I was planning on switching to the Michelin Defender as well. I’m a road warrior and a “spirited” driver. I had the SRX’s installed by Tire Star in Wolcottville, IN and headed North to the UP of Michigan. They balanced them perfectly I might add. I left in ice and sleet which cleared after 100 miles, then heavy rain that changed to snow; and then blizzard conditions in the first 500 miles of driving. In three days, I can report in at 1000 miles on the clock. I first noticed how significantly quieter these tires are than the Premiers; so much so, I now realize that I have some wind noise coming from my passenger door that requires some minor adjustment. These tires start out rough and need about 5 miles to warm up in below freezing temps…and will step up about 3psi at speed to the 38psi mark; then they’re smooth as butter at 90mph. Unlike the higher performance Michelin…these need a warm up to smooth out. Remember this is 109H vs a 109V. You will notice a slight loss of performance handling, but a much plusher ride…so if you have an extra 200hp with a Livernois upgrade, these tires are not for you. They outperform the Michelins in Ice, Snow and Heavy Rain but will require some getting used to with spirited cornering as these tires are also 8 lbs heavier than the Premier…but they STICK! To be fair to Michelin…an honest comparison would be with the Defender, not the Premier’s. Thus far, I am extremely pleased with my decision to purchase and will update my review as time progresses. I like everything about them…and they have exceeded my expectations. They’re also very cool to look at! I’ll be back!
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making my Tahoe great again! I bought my Tahoe right after the previous owner put the Cooper SRX on. These tires are amazing! We’ve had lots of rain and some snow recently, and these tires never lost their grip on the road. We also have lots of potholes right now, and the SRX has been brilliant in helping me dodge all of them. The confidence I have in these tires grows daily!
Date published: 2018-02-19
  • y_2020, m_5, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_413_SUVS_CUVS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_coopertire
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Warranty

Premium Limited Warranty

Free 45-Day Test Drive

T-Rated - 75,000 Miles Treadwear Protection
H-Rated - 70,000 Miles Treadwear Protection
V-Rated - 65,000 Miles Treadwear Protection


Download the 2020 Consumer Replacement Tire Guide, Limited Warranty & Registration Booklet.

Reward